Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon


share icon
share icon

What is Forebrain?

The brain is the center of the body. The main divisions of the brain include the forebrain midbrain and hindbrain. The forebrain is further divided into two subdivisions they are telencephalon and diencephalon. The diencephalon includes the thalamus, hypothalamus, and pineal body. Let us learn about the forebrain parts and forebrain function below.

Forebrain Parts

The forebrain (prosencephalon) is that the largest part of the brain, most of which is that the cerebrum. Other important forebrain structures include the thalamus, the hypothalamus, and the limbic system. The cerebrum is divided into two cerebral hemispheres connected by a mass of white matter known as the corpus callosum. Each hemisphere is split into four lobes; the frontal, parietal, occipital, and temporal lobes. 

The surface of every hemisphere is formed from gray matter referred to as the cerebral mantle and is folded to extend the area available within the skull. The cortex has roles within perception, memory, and every one higher thought processes. Inside the cortex is that the substantia alba, within which are a variety of nuclei (grey matter), referred to as the basal nuclei. The basal nuclei receive information from the cortex to manage skeletal movement and other higher motor functions.

The thalamus functions to relay sensory information to the cerebral mantle and therefore the hypothalamus, regulating visceral functions including temperature, reproductive functions, eating, sleeping, and therefore the display of emotion. The visceral brain describes a set of structures within the forebrain, including the amygdala and hippocampus, also referred to as the 'emotional brain'. It is important within the formation of memories and in making decisions and learning.

Forebrain Parts and Functions

(Image will be uploaded soon)


The thalamus has many functions including processing and relaying sensory information selectively to various parts of the cerebral cortex, translating signals to the cerebral cortex from lower centers including auditory, somatic, visceral, gustatory, and visual systems, and also regulating states of sleep and wakefulness. The thalamus plays a serious role in regulating arousal, levels of consciousness, and levels of activity.


The function of the hypothalamus is especially associated with the general regulation of the system. The hypothalamus is closely associated with the pituitary, controlling an outsized proportion of the activity getting to it. 


The main function of the pituitary is related to the production of hormones as it is part of the Endocrine System.

Cerebral Cortex

The cerebral cortex is necessary for memory storage, attention, awareness, thought, language and consciousness. The outer layers of the cerebrum are made from gray matter. Grey matter is formed by neurons and their unmyelinated fibers. The white matter below the grey matter of the cortex is formed predominantly by myelinated axons. 

The surface of the cerebral cortex is folded in mammals; more than two-thirds of the surface is within the grooves or "sulci''. The cerebral cortex is connected to structures such as the thalamus and the basal ganglia, sending information to them along with different connections and receiving information from them via afferent connections. Most sensory information is routed to the cerebral mantle via the thalamus. The cortex is commonly described as comprising three parts; sensory, motor, and association areas.

Forebrain, Midbrain, and Hindbrain

The forebrain, midbrain, and hindbrain structure the three major parts of the brain. The forebrain structures include the cerebrum, thalamus, hypothalamus, pituitary gland, limbic system, and olfactory bulb. The midbrain consists of various cranial nerve nuclei, tectum, tegmentum, colliculi, and crura Celebi. The hindbrain known as the brainstem is made up of the medulla, pons, cranial nerves, and back part of the brain called the cerebellum.

Difference between Forebrain, Midbrain, and Hindbrain

The main difference that is found in the parts of the brain lies in the different functions that they perform:

The hindbrain is responsible for the actions of breathing, heart, and blood vessel, swallowing, vomiting, and digestion. It acts as a screen for information that leaves or enters the brain.

Midbrain is a center for reflex responses to visual, touch, and auditory input.

The forebrain is responsible for the actions such as hunger, thirst, body temperature and is also responsible for intelligence and memory.

Forebrain function

The main function of the forebrain is:

  • Intelligence

  • Will power

  • Memory

  • Voluntary actions

  • Consciousness

  • It also acts as a center for touch, smell, hearing, visual reception, and temperature reception.

It is commonly known that the brain studies itself. This means that in animals including humans, the brain is a sophisticated organ that is capable of understanding the other sophisticated organ. In psychology, the study of the brain and nervous system are the most exciting discoveries. In the future, the research that is linked to neural activity, real-world attitudes, and behavior will help us to understand human psychology.

This is all about the different parts of the forebrain and their functions. Focus on the respective functions of the forebrain and its differences with the other parts of the human brain.

Want to read offline? download full PDF here
Download full PDF
Is this page helpful?

FAQs on Forebrain

1. What is the forebrain? What are the types of forebrain?

The forebrain is that the largest part of the brain, most of which is that the cerebrum. It is also called the prosencephalon. 

The major types of forebrain consist of:

1. Telencephalon:

It is further subdivided into

  • Cerebral cortex

  • Limbic forebrain structures

  • Basal ganglia

  • Olfactory system

2. Diencephalon:

It is further subdivided into

  • Thalamus

  • Hypothalamus

  • Pineal gland

2. What is the function of forebrain? What are the major lobes found in the forebrain?

 The forebrain plays a crucial role in the processing of information that is related to complex cognitive activities, sensory and associative functions, and voluntary motor activities.

The lobes that are found in the forebrain are:

  • Frontal lobe

  • Parietal lobe

  • Occipital lobe

  • Temporal lobe

3. Are forebrain, Midbrain, and Hindbrain different? 

Yes they are different. All of them specialize in different functions. 

The hindbrain is responsible for the actions of breathing, heart, blood vessel, vomiting, etc. 

The midbrain is responsible for the center for reflex responses to visual, touch, and auditory input.

The forebrain is responsible for actions such as hunger, thirst, body temperature, and also for intelligence and memory.

4. Briefly explain the parts of the brain.

The brain has three parts:

The forebrain consists of the thalamus, hypothalamus, pituitary glands, limbic system, and olfactory bulb. 

The midbrain consists of cranial nerve nuclei, tectum, tegmentum, colliculi, and crura Celebi.

The hindbrain is made up of the medulla, pons, cranial nerves.