Kingdom Animalia Plantae And Viruses

The kingdom is the second-highest taxonomic rank just below domain and it is divided into smaller groups called phyla. This kingdom is further classified into Animalia, Plantae, Fungi, Protista, and Monera. The organisms were organized into five kingdoms by R.H.Whittaker on the basis of cell structure, mode, source of nutrition, and body design. The five-kingdom classification is followed by India. Kingdom Animalia contains all the animals and it is the largest among the five-kingdom classification. Kingdom Plantae consists of all the plants on the earth. Viruses are not made up of living cells so they do not belong to any particular kingdom.

The Virus Comes Under Which Kingdom

Viruses do not come under any kingdom because they are submicroscopic infectious agents that replicate only inside the living cells of an organism. Viruses have an ability to infect all types of life forms like animals, plants, microorganisms including bacteria and archaea. These are found in almost every ecosystem on earth and are considered to be the most numerous type of biological entity. Virology is the study of viruses. 

(Image to be added soon)

Difference Between Plantae And Animalia



These do not show locomotion

They show locomotion

It contains all eukaryotic photosynthetic organisms

It contains heterotrophic, eukaryotic, multicellular organisms

Plants cells have a cell wall

Animal cells lack a cell wall

The organisms in this kingdom can prepare their own food

The organisms of this kingdom cannot prepare their own food 

They do not depend on other organisms for food

These directly or indirectly depend on other organisms for food

These do not show alteration in generation 

These show alteration in generation

They grow throughout their lifespan

These can grow up to a particular age only

They store food in starch

They store food in glycogen

Reproduction may be vegetative or by pollination of flowers

Reproduction by the population of males and females

Nutrition is done by absorption through roots

Holozoic mode of nutrition means direct ingestion of food

Kingdom Animalia

The kingdom of Animalia is composed of all animals. It is considered to be one of the vast kingdoms from all the five kingdoms. These are multicellular eukaryotic organisms. These do not have a cell wall or chlorophyll like plants. The members of the animal kingdom have a heterotrophic mode of nutrition. 

The kingdom Animalia is classified into ten different subphyla based on their body design or differentiation which are as follows

  • Porifera - These are the organisms with holes commonly known as sponges.

  • Coelenterata - These are the organisms which have a hollow body cavity.

  • Platyhelminthes - These are also known as platforms and they have a dorso-ventrally flattened body.

  • Nematoda - These consist of nematodes or roundworms which have a cylindrical body shape.

  • Annelida - These are commonly known as segmented or ringworms having segmented cylindrical body structure.

  • Arthropoda - These have jointed legs and this is the largest phylum in the animal kingdom.

  • Mollusca - It consists of a large group of animals and has an open circulatory system.

  • Echinodermata - These are spiny skinned animals and have a true coelom.

  • Hemichordata - These organisms have soft and fragile bodies.

  • Chordata - These are bilaterally symmetrical and possess a notochord.

(Image to be added soon)

Kingdom Plantae

This kingdom includes all the plants on the earth. These are multicellular, eukaryotes, and consist of a rigid structure that surrounds the cell membrane called the cell wall. These have a green-colored pigment called chlorophyll which is important for photosynthesis.

The plant kingdom is also divided into five subgroups which are as follows

  • Thallophyta - These are the plants that lack a well-differentiated body structure.

  • Bryophyta - These have differentiated plant bodies like stem, leaf structures.

  • Pteridophyta - These have well-differentiated structures such as stem, root, leaves as well as a vascular system.

  • Gymnosperms - These are the plants that have a well-differentiated plant body, vascular system and they bear seeds that are naked.

  • Angiosperms - These are the seed-bearing plants with well-differentiated plant bodies. These are commonly known as flowering plants. These are further divided based on the number of cotyledons present in the seeds.

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

1. What are Viruses?

Viruses are the small parasites that cannot reproduce by themselves. Once they infect the susceptible cell then they can direct the cell machinery to produce more viruses. Viruses are made up of a core RNA or DNA as their genetic material which is surrounded by a protective coat called capsid is made up of protein. These have nucleic acid which may be single or double-stranded. The viruses are capable of latching onto the host cells and getting inside them. These viruses only exist to make more viruses. Before penetrating into the host cell the virus particle attacks it.

(Image to be added soon)

2. How Do Plants Prepare their Own Food?

By the process of photosynthesis, plants make their own food. Photosynthesis is a process to prepare food by converting light energy into chemical energy and by storing it in the form of starch which can be used later. This process is done with the help of carbon dioxide, water, and sunlight. During this process, light energy is captured and is used to convert water, carbon dioxide, and minerals into oxygen and energy-rich organic compounds. It occurs in the chloroplast which contains chlorophyll and it is the green pigment that absorbs light energy. The starch which is converted into glucose is converted into another compound for growth and reproduction.

(Image to be added soon)