ISRO Full Form

ISRO: Indian Space Research Organization

Indian Space Research Organization is one among the largest space agencies in the world. From 2015 Shri. AS Kiran Kumar is the Chairman of ISRO It develops application-specific satellite products and tools for the country such as communication, broadcast, geographic information systems, weather forecasts, telemedicine, distance education satellites etc.

Sight: The main intension is to tackle space technology for national development while pursuing planetary exploration and space science research.

Indian Space Research Organization has built India's first satellite, Aryabhata, which was launched on 19 April 1975 by the Soviet Union. They have decided to name it after our Indian mathematician Aryabhata. In the year 1980, Rohini was the first satellite to be placed in orbit by an Indian-made launch vehicle, SLV-3. ISRO eventually developed two mpre rockets namely the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) for launching satellites into polar orbits and the Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) for placing satellites into geostationary orbits. These two rockets have launched numerous Earth observation satellites and communications satellites. Satellite navigation systems like GAGAN and IRNSS have also been deployed. From 2014 January, ISRO used an indigenous cryogenic engine in a GSLV-D5 launch of the GSAT-14.


On 22 October 2008, ISRO sent a lunar orbiter, Chandrayaan-1, it was the one which discovered lunar water in the form of ice, and the Mars Orbiter Mission, it entered Mars orbit on 24 September 2014, making India the first nation to succeed on its maiden attempt to Mars, as well as the first space agency in Asia to reach Mars orbit. 


ISRO launched twenty satellites in a single-vehicle on 18 June 2016  and again on 15 February 2017, ISRO launched one hundred and four satellites in a single rocket (PSLV-C37) and it is a world record. ISRO launched its one of the heaviest rocket on 5 June 2017 Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle-Mark III (GSLV-Mk III), and placed a communications satellite GSAT-19 in orbit. After this launch, ISRO became capable of launching 4-ton heavy satellites into GTO. ISRO again launched its second lunar mission Chandrayaan-2 to study the lunar geology and the distribution of lunar water on 22 July 2019.


ISRO was established in the year 1969 and works under the Department of Space of the Government of India. The Department of Space falls under the authority of Prime Minister and the Space Commission. ISRO is affianced in the application of Space Science and Space Technology and works for national benefits. Dr Vikram Sarabhai is known as the father of India's Space Program.

Goals and Objectives of ISRO

ISRO’s main intent is to develop space technology and make it applicable to various nation tasks. 


Indian Space Research Organization has achieved innumerable breakthroughs since the day of its establishment starting from the first Indian Satellite, Aryabhata to Rohini, the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) and the Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV).

Organisation Structure and Facilities

The Department of Space (DoS ) by the Government of India governs Indian Space Research Organization. Department of Space falls under the authority of the Space Commission and it manages the following agencies and institutes


  • Indian Space Research Organisation

  • Antrix Corporation – The marketing arm of ISRO, Bengaluru.

  • Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Ahmedabad.

  • National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL), Gadanki, Andhra Pradesh.

  • New Space India Limited - Commercial wing, Bengaluru.

  • North-Eastern Space Applications Centre (NE-SAC), Umiam.

  • Semi-Conductor Laboratory (SCL), Mohali.

  • Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST), Thiruvananthapuram – India's space university.

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

1. What is the Old Name of ISRO?

Answer: ISRO was initially known as The Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR) and it was established by Jawaharlal Nehru during his tenurity under the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) in 1962, with the urging of scientist Vikram Sarabhai recognizing the need in space research. INCOSPAR grew and became ISRO in 1969, also under the DAE.

2. I am in Class 12 and Want to go to ISRO. How Can I Do This?

Answer:As you know ISRO is one the thing that makes us proud for getting into it you have following options:

1. IIST ( Indian institute of space science and technology) — this is a college founded and ran directly by ISRO if you are able to maintain good grades in college you are directly recruited by ISRO as scientist/engineer and admission in this college are based on jee advance rank generally you will make it in under 4.5 k rank.

2. After graduation ( BTech ) ISRO separately conducts a test after which you can get in following courses conducted by ICRB ( ISRO central recruitment board)

  1. Btech in computer science

  2. Btech in mechanical engineering ( all sub-branches included)

  3. Btech in electronics and communication

  4. Btech in electronics and instrumentation.