CBSE Class 8 Political Science (Civics) Chapter 5 Notes - Judiciary


Judiciary Class 8 Notes Political Science (Civics) Chapter 5 - PDF Download

Bookmark added to your notes.
View Notes

Class 8 Social Science Civics Chapter 5 Judiciary will help the students understand and know the answers to questions like what do you mean by an independent judiciary? Or why do we need independent judiciary?

CBSE Class 8 Political Science (Civics) Chapter 5 Notes - Judiciary part-1
Loading More Solutions...
FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

Q1. What are the Different Branches of the Legal System?

Ans. There are two branches of the legal system: criminal law and civil law. Let’s look at some of the key differences between these two branches.

Criminal Law

Civil Law

This branch of law deals with conduct or acts that are defined by the law as offences. Eg: Theft, dowry, murder, harassing a woman, etc.

This branch of law deals with any injury or harm to the rights of individuals. Eg: Disputes relating to purchase of goods, real estate disputes like sale of land and rent matters, divorce cases, etc.

If found guilty, the accused can be sent to jail or fined, or both in some cases.

In case of disputes related to the civil law, the court provides the specific relief that the aggrieved party has asked for.

The first step in case of criminal law matters is the lodging of a First Information Report (FIR) with the police. The police investigate the crime and then file a case in the court.

In the case of civil law matters, a petition needs to be filed by the affected party only, before the relevant court.

Q2. Do all the Citizens of India have a Right and Access to the Courts?

Ans. Every citizen of India has a right to justice through the courts. However, access to courts is still difficult for a vast majority of the poor in India as it involves a lot of money, paperwork as well as time.

Q3. What is the Structure of Courts in India?

Ans. The structure of courts in India has three levels:

  1. Supreme Court - The highest level.

  2. High Courts.

  3. District Courts.