Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The vas deferens receives duct from the seminal vesicle and opens into urethra as
B)Ejaculatory duct
C)Efferent ductule

Last updated date: 20th Jun 2024
Total views: 387.6k
Views today: 9.87k
387.6k+ views
Hint: The male reproductive organ system produces, maintains, and transfers sperm (male reproductive cells) and protective fluid (semen). It produces and secretes sex hormones for males. It helps to maintain secondary sexual characteristics in human males.

Complete answer:
The reproductive system of the organism is defined as a biological structure made up of all the anatomical organs related to sexual reproduction.
The human reproductive system is divided into two types.
These are named as - male reproductive system and female reproductive system.
The male reproductive system secretes and stores sperm.

Now, let us find the answer-
The external part of the male reproductive system includes the penis, the scrotum and the testicles.
1.Penis - It is defined as a male sexual intercourse organ. It is composed of three parts - the root that is connected to the abdomen wall; the body or shaft; and the gland that is the cone-shaped end of the penis.
The gland termed as the head of the penis is concealed by a thin layer of skin called the foreskin.
2.Scrotum - The scrotum is defined as a loose, pouch-like skin sac that hangs behind the penis. It composed testicles and many nerves and blood vessels.
3.Testicles - The testicles are defined as oval organs of the size of very large olives that are present in the scrotum, bound at either end by a chain called a spermatic cord. Male reproductive system consists of 2 testes. Testes secretes testosterone, the main male sex hormone, and sperm.

4.The extratesticular duct system is made up of tubes which conduct sperms from the testes to the outside. It begins with ducts known as vasa efferentia. From each testis, 10-12 vasa efferentia begin to form a folded and coiled tube called epididymis behind each testis.
5.The epididymis is made up of three parts namely: (i) Caput (ii) Corpus (iii) Cauda.
The epididymis stores the sperms for some time only. From cauda epididymis, a partially coiled tube called vas deferens begins into the abdomen through inguinal canal, passes over the urinary bladder, the ductus deferens/vas deferens dilates to give rise to ampulla, (which get the duct from the seminal vesicle behind the urinary bladder and give rise to an ejaculatory duct. The final portion of the ampulla now moves through the prostate to open into the urethra shortly after its origin from the urinary bladder.
Hence, the correct answer is option (B)

Note: The male reproductive system is composed of the penis, the scrotum and the testicles. The inner organs of the male reproductive system are composed of ejaculatory ducts, urethra, vas deferens, prostate gland, seminal vesicles, and bulbourethral gland. Testes remain in the scrotal sac to have a temperature 2-2.5°C lower than that of body temperature.