Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Origin of life took place in which of the following period?
A. Mesozoic
B. Proterozoic
C. Precambrian
D. Devonian

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 392.4k
Views today: 9.92k
392.4k+ views
Hint:-The study of the history of life forms like changes in flora and fauna that have occurred over millions of years on earth is known as evolution. Evolution simply means an orderly change from one condition to another. The time after the formation of the earth is divided into six eras. Some eras are further divided into periods and periods of recent eras are divided into smaller periods called epochs. The chronological order of the history of organic evolution on earth is called the geological time scale.

Complete Answer:-
Intense geological disturbances have occurred on earth from time to time, in which most of the pre-existing organisms perished out and the few remaining ones evolved into new and varied organisms. These disturbances are called a revolution. There are a total of six eras named Azoic, Archaeozoic, Proterozoic, Paleozoic, Mesozoic, and Cenozoic.
During the Azoic era, there was no life on earth and only chemical evolution took place. After that, prokaryotes originated and became dominant during the archaeozoic era. The first great geological revolution occurred after the archaeozoic era. It marked the beginning of the proterozoic era. In the proterozoic era, primitive eukaryotes were developed and dominated. The second great revolution marked the beginning of a new era called the paleozoic era. The Palaeozoic era is further divided into six periods named Cambrian, Ordovician, Silurian, Devonian, Carboniferous, and Permian. The time before the Palaeozoic era is also called the Precambrian era because the first period of the Palaeozoic era is Cambrian. Thus the origin of life started in the Precambrian era. During the Devonian period, true fishes were dominant and the origin of amphibians started. The Mesozoic era is also called the age of reptiles in which reptiles were dominant.
Thus, the right option is C.

Note:- Devonian period is also called the golden age of fishes and the Carboniferous period is also called the golden age of amphibians. The Mesozoic era is further divided into three periods named Triassic, Jurassic, and Cretaceous. The Cenozoic era is called the age of birds, mammals, and angiosperms. It is further divided into two periods named tertiary and quaternary.