Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres

Name the country of the European Union's Parliament.
A. Germany
B. France
C. Belgium
D. Austria

Last updated date: 29th Feb 2024
Total views: 339.9k
Views today: 4.39k
Rank Predictor
339.9k+ views
Hint: The European Parliament is the legislative branch of the European Union. The European Parliament has three different places of Work in which administrative work, Plenary sessions and Parliament’s meeting took place.

Complete answer: European Parliament of the European Union inaugurated in 1958 as the Common Assembly and in 1979, its members were directly elected for the first time. It has more than 700 members and the number of members per country varies depending on population. This huge population represents the second-largest democratic electorate in the world and the largest trans-national democratic electorate in the world. The members were directly elected by the citizens of the European Union in every five years through Universal Suffrage. The Parliament has headquarters in Strasbourg in France, Luxembourg City and in Brussels, Belgium.

Looking at the options given:
Option A. Germany is the incorrect option as no European Union Headquarters are there. It has its parliament named as Reichstag.
Option B. France is the correct answer as in the Strasbourg Plenary session of the European Union took place.
Option C. Belgium is also the correct answer as the Parliament’s committee meetings are held primarily in Brussels, the capital of Belgium.
Option D. Austria is an incorrect option as the headquarters are in France, Belgium and Luxembourg City.

Thus, Option C is correct.

Note: David-Maria Sassoli is the President of the European Union Parliament. The President’s signature is required for enacting most of the European Union and the European Union Budget.
Recently Updated Pages