Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Mature Graafian follicle is generally present in the ovary of a healthy human female around
A) 5-8 day of menstrual cycle
B) 11-17 day of menstrual cycle
C) 18-23 day of menstrual cycle
D) 24-28 day of menstrual cycle

Last updated date: 18th Jun 2024
Total views: 403.2k
Views today: 11.03k
403.2k+ views
Hint:Starting from puberty, monthly changes in ovaries and uterus also starts. The layer of cells surrounding primary oocyte are called granulosa cells and together, they are called primary follicle, which through many other stages reaches to become Graafian follicle.

Complete Answer:
Let us understand the stages of formation of different follicles in the ovary-
🡺At sexual maturity two hormones are produced by the pituitary gland:- follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) and luteinizing hormone (LH) helps these primordial follicles to develop.
🡺If the secondary follicles survive, tertiary follicles are engendered. Their identifying characteristic is a fluid-filled cavity, the antral follicle. The oocyte lies at the edge in a mound made of granulosa epithelial cells, the cumulus oophorus.
🡺The second division then starts, and a Graafian follicle is formed. This contains a secondary oocyte. The mature Graafian follicle is present in the ovary for around 11-17 day of menstrual cycle and on the rupture of which, the ovum is released.

Additional information:The Graafian follicle is the follicular stage after the first meiotic division but before ovulation. It therefore contains a 2N haploid oocyte. It is characterized by a large follicular antrum that makes up most of the follicle.Most Graafian follicles will not ovulate but will simply degenerate, the rest form the corpus luteum in most mammals. Follicle growth is under the influence of the pituitary gland.

So, the correct answer is option B (11-17 day of menstrual cycle).

Note:The ovarian follicle has two major functions. It provides for the maturation and release of a fertilized oocyte. It also forms the corpus luteum, which develops and maintains implantation of the embryo.