Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

How many of the following parts of embryo are derived from "Embryonal/Apical cell".
Plumule, Radicle, Epicotyl, Cotyledon, Root cap, Hypocotyl.

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 385.2k
Views today: 7.85k
385.2k+ views
Hint: The zygote formed after fertilization undergo cellular divisions and differentiation and forms a mature embryo. An embryo is the fertilised ovule. A new plant grows from an embryo. The five major parts of the embryo are shoot apical meristem, hypocotyl, root meristem, root cap, and cotyledons.

Complete answer:
To solve this question, we must know about the fertilisation and the cell division in plants.

The zygote formed after fertilisation undergoes an asymmetric transverse cell division which produces two cells.
Apical cells which are present at the top and contain most of the cytoplasm. It forms hypocotyls, cotyledons.
Basal cells are formed at the bottom and contain vacuole. It forms hypophysis and suspensor.
Plumule and Radicle- The embryonic shoot is called the plumule which grows upwards and forms a shoot. The embryonic root is called the radical which grows downward in the soil
Root Cap- It is a type of tissue present at the tip of the root which prevents the root from mechanical damage.
Epicotyl-It extends above the cotyledons and consists of shoot apex and leaf primordia.

Hence, the correct answer is option (A)

Note: Cotyledon is called the seed leaf within the embryo of a seed. They are the first leaf produced by the plants. It can be one (monocot) or two (dicot) in number. It consists of stored food for the young plant. The hypocotyl is the part of the embryo that lies in between the cotyledon and the radicals. It pushes the cotyledons above the ground so that it can develop.