Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Follicular phase of menstrual cycle is the other name of
A. Proliferative phase
B. Secretory phase
C. Luteal phase
D. Menstruation

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 402k
Views today: 7.02k
402k+ views
Hint: The menstruation or menstrual cycle is the physiological changes that take place in fertile females for sexual reproduction. It is a complex process which is regulated by a number of hormones. During menstruation the menstrual fluid flows from the vagina for 3 to 5 days. Menstrual cycle is counted from the first day of menstrual flow.

Complete answer:
During the menstrual cycle, the endometrium (a thickened lining of the uterus wall) ruptures. Rupturing of endometrium results in the menstrual fluid which contains blood, cells from the lining of the uterus and mucus. The menstrual cycle is divided into three phases: the follicular phase, ovulation and the luteal phase.
Follicular phase:
The follicular phase is also called the proliferative phase. It is the phase of the menstrual cycle during which follicles in the ovary mature and simultaneously, the endometrium regenerates through proliferation. These changes in the ovary and the uterus are induced by the secretion of follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) and Luteinizing hormone (LH). These hormones stimulate follicular development and secretion of estrogen by the follicle cells. The high estrogen levels initiate the formation of a new layer of endometrium in the uterus.
Ovulation is the phase in which a mature follicle ruptures and discharges an ovum or egg or oocyte.
The Luteal Phase:
The luteal phase or secretory phase. It starts with the formation of the corpus luteum and ends in either pregnancy or breakdown of corpus luteum.

Thus, option A) Proliferative phase is the correct answer.

Note: Menstruation is the rupturing and elimination of the thickened endometrium layer of the uterus in the form of menstrual fluid which contains blood and mucus.