Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres

What does the word 'Veda' mean?

Last updated date: 29th Feb 2024
Total views: 341.4k
Views today: 5.41k
Rank Predictor
341.4k+ views
Hint: There are four Vedas: the Rigveda, the Yajurveda, the Samaveda and the Atharvaveda. Each Veda has four subdivisions – the Samhitas (mantras and benedictions), the Aranyakas (text on rituals, ceremonies, sacrifices and symbolic-sacrifices), the Brahmanas (commentaries on rituals, ceremonies and sacrifices), About the Upanishads (texts discussing meditation, philosophy and spiritual knowledge). Some scholars add a fifth group, the Upasana's (worship). The Upanishads' texts address ideas close to the heterodox practises of sramana.

Complete answer: Vedas are Hindus who differentiate śruti ("what is heard") from other religious texts called sm-titi ("what is remembered"). Hindus consider the Vedas to be apauru-eya, meaning "not of a man, superhuman" and "impersonal, authorless," after deep meditation, revelations of sacred sounds and texts heard by ancient sages.
With the aid of elaborate mnemonic techniques, the Vedas have been transmitted orally since the 2nd millennium BCE. In the modern era, for their phonology rather than semantics, the mantras, the oldest component of the Vedas, are recited and are regarded as "primordial rhythms of creation," preceding the forms to which they refer.The universe is regenerated by reciting them, "by enlivening and not by enlivening" nourishing the forms of creation at their base."
The Vedas are a vast body of ancient India-origin religious texts. The books, written in Vedic Sanskrit, form the oldest layer of Sanskrit literature and Hinduism's oldest scriptures.
"knowledge, wisdom"wisdom, knowledge"to know"to know. This is re-constructed from the Proto-Indo-European root *ueid-, which means "see" or "know."

So, C is the right answer.

Note: Different positions on the Vedas have been taken by the different Indian philosophies and Hindu denominations; schools of Indian philosophy are known as "orthodox" (āstika) that accept the primary authority of the Vedas. Other practises of śrama, such as Lokayata, Carvaka, Ajivika, Buddhism and Jainism, are referred to as "heterodox" or "non-orthodox" which did not consider the Vedas as authorities.
Recently Updated Pages