Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres

Apical meristem divides to form, three meristematic regions
A. Dermal, vascular and ground
B. Calyptrogen, periblem and plerome
C. Protoderm, procambium and ground meristem
D. Lateral, intercalary and subapical

Last updated date: 01st Mar 2024
Total views: 361.2k
Views today: 3.61k
Rank Predictor
361.2k+ views
Hint:-In plants, differentiated cells cease cell division and they cannot multiply or produce different types of cells. However, cells at the growing tips of root and shoot remain immature and undifferentiated. These are embryonic tissue which serve as the site of rapid cell division and are known as meristems.

Complete answer:
Cell division is an important process for the expansion and differentiation of cells into tissues and organs. In plants, meristematic cells are small thin-walled cells capable of dividing continuously into different types of cells. These cells lend a basic structure to the plant body. They contain large nuclei, and may have small or no vacuoles. They are placed closely together and don’t have intercellular spaces. Meristematic tissues are distinguished as apical, intercalary and lateral meristems based on their position in a plant body. Apical meristems are observed on the tips of stems and roots hence named growing points. They mainly initiate the growth of new cells in the root and shoot tips of young germinating seeds. Apical meristems are further differentiated into primary meristems and secondary meristems. Primary meristems participate in primary growth and are of three types viz., protoderm, procambium and ground meristem. This property of primary meristems was observed in 1943 by a botanist, Joseph Carr as he found meristems responsible for the increase of plant height.
Thus, the right option is C.

Note:- Cells of apical meristems are found in four zones of a growing tip that include cells in central zone, peripheral zone, medullary meristem and medullary tissue. Secondary meristems are called lateral meristems as they are located laterally on the established stem of a plant and cause lateral growth. They consist of vascular cambium, and cork cambium.
Trending doubts