IAO 2020 Eligibility

International Astronomy Olympiad Eligibility

The International Astronomy Olympiad testifies the fact that the new generation of high school students continues to be in pursuit of discovering the mysteries of the universe. Great scientists like Galileo and Ptolemy have shown us that Astronomy is an indefinite journey of discovering impeccable truths about the universe. The International Astronomy Olympiad is one of the brilliant gateways for the young introspective minds to step in the mesmerizing world of Astrophysics. As an IAO aspirant, you must have a clear idea about the eligibility criteria. Read further to know about the eligibility criteria of the International Astronomy Olympiad.

International Astronomy Olympiad – A Brief Introduction 

In its rich history, the International Astronomical Olympiad celebrates curiosity and free-thinking, challenging the existing knowledge, giving imagination, talent, expansive outlook and revolutionary concepts to breed freely. Combining exact sciences and creation of new hypotheses, theory and laboratory experiments, the Olympiad keeps up the spirit of a scientific expedition. This is indeed a precious chance for students in love with astronomy to step into the world of astrophysics. The International Astronomy Olympiad eligibility is formulated to keep up the purpose of the Olympiad.

Eligibility Criteria for IAO – A Quick View 

The term ‘eligibility criteria’, when used about any exam or IAO in particular, refers to those norms that determine your suitability for the examination. The International Olympiad of Astronomy eligibility determines if a particular candidate has a suitable qualification and the age limit for appearing in the examination. 

Eligibility Criteria for International Astronomy Olympiad 

The International Astronomy Olympiad follows strict eligibility criteria for its participants.

The Following Table Shows The Eligibility Criteria

Age Limits 

Group Eligibility 

14-15 years 


16-18 years


In addition to this, there are certain other criteria that the Eurasian Astronomical Society follows for participants of the International Olympiad of Astronomy. Each of the students must be nominated by his/her own country. Each country has its bodies for selecting the designated number of 2-3 candidates along with a leader for the International Astronomy Olympiad. Each participating and observing country may send 5 candidates in total. The eligibility criteria are further verified by the Eurasian Society allowing the candidature of each student. 

Important Facts About Eligibility Criteria For International Astronomy Olympiad 

The Euro Asian Astronomical society which governs the International Astronomy Olympiad gives a lot of importance to the eligibility criteria for the students participating from all over the world. Here are some of the key points to note about the same:

  • The eligibility criteria are the same for students from all the participating countries. 

  • The Eurasian Astronomical society sets the eligibility criteria. 

  • Each candidate must abide by the criteria set by the governing body of the examination. 

  • The eligibility criteria can be altered. Students must check the criteria for every year. 

  • Students must corroborate with corresponding documents to meet up with the eligibility criteria. 

  • The eligibility criteria are set by keeping in mind many factors. 

(Image to be added soon)

International Astronomy Eligibility Criteria for Indian Students 

Every year, thousands of Indian students who have a deep interest in the subject of astronomy aspire for competing in the Olympiad. However, the International Astronomy Olympiad Selection Process of India is rigorous. They must qualify the National Astronomical Olympiad, conducted by the Indian Association of Physics Teachers and the Homi Bhabha Center for Scientific Education (HBCSE). 

The Indian students who are born on or after July 1, 1999, and also are in Class 12 or lower class as on November 30, 2019, are eligible for NSEA. Students may appear in one or more subjects as per the rules and regulation set by the governing authority. The students must be Indian nationals. 

Students who have passed Class 12 are not eligible for the NSEA. 

Eligibility for the Second Stage of the Examination in India

For qualifying to the second stage of the Olympiad which leads to the International Astronomy Olympiad, the student must score equal or greater than the Minimum Admissible Score (MAS) to be eligible for stage 2.  The MAS for any given subject would be 40% of the maximum score in that subject. 

Students must note that there would be no other criterion for selection to the Indian National Olympiad examination, which is a requisite for the International Astronomy Olympiad. Aspiring students must go through all the eligibility criteria for the International Astronomy Olympiad. On meeting all the criteria, you can apply for the Olympiad after approval from the National Council for Science Museum.

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

1. Why is The Age Limit of The Participants Limited to 18 Years?

To be very specific, the age limit set by the Eurasian Astronomical Society is the age at the beginning of the calendar year. So if the examination is conducted in September or October, the actual age of the students maybe eighteen years eight months at the time of the actual examination. However, the age limit must not exceed the limit. The reasons for having a strict age limit for the students choosing to appear for the IAP are as follows:

  • The International Astronomical Olympiad is an examination organized for the students who are still studying in high school and not for those who have passed out.

  • It is an educational and scientific event, the organization feels that this is the age when the spirit of the Olympiad is most appropriate.

2. Why is the Organizing Structure of the International Astronomical Olympiad Different from IPhO?

The international Astronomical Olympiad was founded under the international body Euroasian Astronomical Society. Every year, this international society conducts Olympiads in association with the hosting country. The participating states are registered members of the IOA. All the participating members of the IAO are connected and any changes in the rules and regulations must be done through voting. The leaders of EAAS in holding of IAO prohibits it from acquiring any features that make it tourist recreation constituent for the participants. All these differences make it distinct from the other IPhO. However, there is a direct point of reference to the rules and traditions of other Olympiads.