Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

In the long form of periodic table, the non-metals are placed in:
(A) s-block
(B) p-block
(C) d-block
(D) f-block

Last updated date: 23rd May 2024
Total views: 46.2k
Views today: 1.46k
46.2k+ views
Hint: This group is the only group which contains elements of each type: metals, metalloids, non-metals and noble gases as well. This group ranges from group 13 to group 18.

Complete step by step answer:
-In the long form of periodic table the elements are arranged on the basis of the modern periodic law. The modern periodic law states that:
“The physical and chemical properties of an element are periodic functions of their atomic masses.”
-An arrangement of elements in order of their increasing atomic numbers is called periodic table. There are 18 vertical columns called ‘group’ and 7 horizontal rows called’ period’ in a modern periodic table. In total there are 118 elements in the periodic table including all the metals, metalloids and non-metals.
-In the periodic table the first 94 elements are naturally occurring while the elements from 95 to 118 have been synthetically synthesised in labs and reactors only.
-All the elements within a group have similar electronic configuration of the outermost shell and hence have similar chemical properties as well.
While all the elements within a period have an increasing number of valence electrons and the outermost shell is the same for all of them. With increase in the energy level of the atom, the number of energy sub-levels also increases.
-There are 4 blocks in the periodic table:
(1) s-block: It has 14 elements. It includes group 1 (alkali metals) and group 2 (alkali earth metals) and period 1 to 7. For these elements the general electronic configuration is: $n{s^{1 - 2}}$ .
(2) p-block: It ranges from group 13 to 18 and period 1 to 7. It is the only block which contains metals, noble gases, metalloids and nonmetals also. The general electronic configuration for p-block elements are: $n{s^2}n{p^{1 - 6}}$.
(3) d-block: It ranges from group 3 to 12 and period 4 to 7. The elements of this block are known as transition metals. Their general electronic configuration is: $(n - 1){d^{1 - 10}}n{s^{1 - 2}}$.
(4) f-block: it is present in the 3rd group and 6th and 7th period. The 6th period elements of f-block are known as Lanthanoids and those of 7th period are known as Actinoids. Their general electronic configuration is: $(n - 2){f^{0 - 14}}(n - 1){d^{0 - 1}}n{s^2}$.

So, the correct option is: (B) p-block.

As we move from left to right in a periodic table the metallic character of elements decreases and their non-metallic character increases, while top to bottom the metallic character increases and non-metallic character decreases.