INAO 2020 Exam Pattern


What is INAO?

Bookmark added to your notes.
View Notes

Due to Covid 19 - The usual three-stage procedure for the selection of the teams to represent India at the International Olympiad that has been followed in prior years is now being shortened to a two-stage procedure as a one-time exception only for the academic year 2020 - 21. Read more about IOQ 2020-21.

The main aim of the National Astronomy Olympiad Program is to encourage candidates with good foundations in Mathematics and Physics and interest in Astronomy to pursue further studies in this field. It involves a five-stage process leading to the participation of the Indian team in the International Olympiad in Astronomy and Astrophysics (IOAA). The Indian National Astronomy Olympiad (INAO), Seniors Level is considered to be amongst the most popular exams in India. Generally, students from IIT’s are considered to get succeed in this exam. The paper includes a maximum of 150 marks and the time duration is two hours. The paper is divided into two separate sections. Both sections are compulsory for each applicant. The first section deals with thirty questions which are of multiple types. The second section has a total of ten questions in which one should have to mark multiple alternative answers. The students need to remember one thing that one every wrong answer there is a penalty of 1 mark.

The candidates are eligible for INO ‘s Astronomy Examination (INAO) after qualifying the National Standard Examination in Astronomy (NSEA) which is conducted by the HBCSE (Homi Bhabha Centre For Science Education).

This exam is usually conducted at the end of November. It is the second stage and only those candidates will appear in the exam who clear the stage one NSEA examination of Astronomy.

National Astronomy Olympiad (INAO) 2021: After qualifying the National Standard Examination (NSEA) the candidates will appear in INO‘s Astronomy Examination (INAO) Which is conducted by the HBCSE (Homi Bhabha Centre For Science Education).

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

Question 1) What are the INAO 2021 Exam Dates?

Answer) There is no such date that has been announced yet but the exam of the INO 2021 will commence from the month of February. The estimated dates are as follows:


Expected Dates

Last date to register for INO exam

January 2nd week

INO exams

February 1st Week

Solutions to INO question papers

Few days after the exam

Last date to receive comments on the solutions

February 2nd Week

Frozen solutions and INO scores

February 3rd Week

Last date to receive the requests for re-evaluation

February 4th Week

Final scores, certificates, and OCSC lists

March 1st week

Question 2) What is HBCSE Science Olympiad 2019-2020?

Answer) The science olympiad is a 5-stage selection process for shortlisting the Indian team for representation at the International Olympiads in Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Junior Science, and Physics. The very first stage is NSE (National Standard Examination), and the 2nd stage, is INO (Indian National Olympiad). The students who qualify stage 1 have to register online for the 2nd stage on the official HBCSE site. The selection procedure consists of the following 5 stages: NSE, INO, Orientation-cum-Selection camp (OCSC), pre-departure camp, and International Olympiad.

Question 3) How to Check Indian National Astronomy Olympiad Result?

Answer) The result is published online. The students can access their INAO results on the HBCSE website. The candidates need to enter their roll number, username, and date of birth as a password in order to view the score. Candidates can also check the average of the top ten marks, MI, and MAS for each subject online.

Question 4) What are the Five Stages in Astronomy Olympiad?

Answer) The astronomy Olympiad program follows the following 5 stages:

Stage I: National Standard Examination in Astronomy (NSEA).

Stage II: Indian National Astronomy Olympiad (INAO),

Stage III: Orientation cum Selection Camp (that is OCSC) in astronomy,

Stage IV: Pre-departure Training Camp ( that is PDT) for IOAA,

Stage V: International Olympiad in Astronomy and  Astrophysics (that is IOAA).