Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

NEET UG Code: What to Know about NEET Qualification Codes

Last updated date: 16th Jul 2024
Total views: 135k
Views today: 4.35k

NEET UG Codes: Learn the Important Details about Qualifying

NEET qualification codes are a crucial component of the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) for undergraduate medical and dental courses in India. The NEET code is used to classify candidates based on their qualifications, educational background, and eligibility for admission to medical and dental colleges.

These qualification codes are assigned to candidates based on their educational background, such as whether they studied Physics, Chemistry, and Biology in their intermediate or pre-university course. The NEET exam code also takes into account whether the candidate is eligible for reservation under any category, such as Scheduled Castes (SC), Scheduled Tribes (ST), or Other Backward Classes (OBC).

Note: 👉Get a Head Start on Your Medical Career with the NEET Rank and College Predictor 2024.

NEET UG Exam Code: What are the Details?

The NEET qualification codes are important in the admission process for medical and dental courses. These codes help the authorities streamline the admission process, ensure transparency, and prevent discrepancies in the selection of candidates.

For instance, a candidate needs to study Biology in their intermediate or pre-university course to be eligible for admission to a medical or dental course. Similarly, suppose a candidate is eligible for reservation under the OBC category. In that case, they will be assigned a different NEET qualification code than a candidate who is not eligible for any reservation.

Therefore, candidates must be aware of their NEET UG qualifying code and ensure that they fulfil all the eligibility criteria for the course they wish to apply for. In addition, the authorities must maintain accurate and up-to-date records of the NEET qualification codes to ensure a fair and transparent admission process for all candidates.

Eligibility Criteria for NEET UG Qualifying Exam Code

The eligibility criteria for the NEET qualifying examination in 2024 dictate that candidates from the general category must pass Physics, Chemistry, Biology, and English separately in their Class 12 exams. Additionally, they must have scored a minimum aggregate of 50% in Physics, Chemistry, and Biology (Botany and Zoology) combined.

For SC/ST/OBC candidates, the minimum requirement is a score of 40%, while candidates with disabilities (PwD) need to achieve a score of 45% or higher. Those who have completed their higher education outside of India must have passed the qualifying exam with a minimum of 50% combined in Chemistry, Physics, and Biology.

What is Qualifying Exam Code for NEET UG? 

Candidates need to be aware of the NEET qualifying codes to avoid any inconvenience during the NEET application process. These codes determine the eligibility of the candidates to appear for the exam. Here is a detailed breakdown of each code for NEET 2024:

NEET Code 01

NEET Code 01 is applicable for candidates currently in Class 12 or waiting for their qualifying examination results. However, it is important to note that if a candidate fails to qualify for the examination after the result is announced, they will become ineligible for admission. Additionally, candidates must provide relevant documents as proof of having passed the qualifying examination.

NEET Code 02

The NEET Code 02 is used for students who have finished their 12 education years under ICSE or CBSE. However, the last two years of study must include English, Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, Mathematics, or any other elective as a major subject prescribed by the National Council of Education Research and Training (NCERT).

Students who have passed 10+2 with Biology/Biotechnology as an additional subject from the National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS) or state open school as private candidates from state boards can apply under this code.

One thing to remember is that the code for droppers in 2024 might also be the same. For example, if a candidate has passed the qualifying examination from CBSE/ICSE or any state board in 2019 but wishes to appear for NEET 2024, they can apply with NEET Code 02.

NEET Code 03

Code 3 is the NEET code for certain medical aspirants who have finished their Pre-exam or Intermediate degree in the stream of Science from a recognised university or board in India. The students should have Chemistry, Physics, Biotechnology/Biology, and English as their subjects. Also, the examination should hold some practicals as well.

NEET Code 04

Candidates who have completed their pre-professional/pre-medical examination with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and English after passing their Higher Secondary examination, Pre-university, or an equivalent exam can choose code 4 as their qualifying code NEET 2024. The pre-professional or pre-medical examination must include practical tests in all subjects.

NEET Code 05

The NEET code 05 can be applied for students who have completed their 1st year of their bachelor’s degree from any recognized university. The choice of subjects is Chemistry, Biology, Physics, and Biotechnology, including practical exams. They must have also passed the Class 12 qualifying examination with these subjects at a level not less than a core course.

NEET Code 06

This particular code can be for the students who have completed their bachelor’s degree in the science stream in at least two subjects from Physics, Chemistry, Biotechnology,/Biology. Also, the candidates applying for this code should have completed their Class 12 studies with the abovementioned subjects.

NEET Code 07

NEET code 07 can be opted for by candidates who have passed an exam mostly equivalent to any intermediate science examination of a particular university/board. However, they must have completed two years of study in Physics, Biology/Biotechnology, Chemistry, and English and have also passed practical tests.

FAQs on NEET UG Code: What to Know about NEET Qualification Codes

1. What are NEET qualification codes?

NEET qualification codes indicate the eligibility criteria for candidates appearing for the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET). There are seven codes in total, each with different eligibility criteria.

2. What is the difference between NEET codes 1 and 2?

NEET code 1 is for candidates appearing in the 12th standard examination or waiting for the results. NEET code 2 is for candidates who have completed their 12th standard or equivalent examinations from a recognized board or university.

3. Can a candidate apply for NEET 2024 with multiple qualification codes?

A candidate can only apply for NEET 2024 with one qualification code. The code must be selected based on the candidate's eligibility criteria.

4. What are the subjects required for NEET qualification code 3?

For NEET qualification code 3, candidates must have passed their intermediate/pre-examination degree in the science stream from a recognized board or university with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and English as compulsory subjects.