Download PDF

Temperate Zone

The temperate zone is such a zone that lies in the middle of both the latitudes, they are located in the regions of the Earth between the tropic regions and the polar regions. The temperate zone has the following features:

  • Few parts of the temperate zone have a Mediterranean Climate, they have a dry summer – like in Rome, Cape Town, Santiago or Adelaide.

  • The northern part of the temperate zones experiences the continental climate and has severe winters like in Moscow or Minnesota; this kind of climate is called Hemi boreal climate.   

  • While, some places in the temperate zone experiences hot summers and cold winters, like Chicago, Beijing, Budapest, or Almaty. 

Temperate Climate Meaning 

[Image will be Uploaded Soon

The Temperate climates have relatively moderate and mean annual temperatures, with average monthly temperatures which are more than 10°C in its warmest months and more than −3°C in the colder months. 

Most of the regions coming under the temperate climate present four seasons, while the temperatures can change majorly between the summer and winter. Most of the people live in temperate zones and there the human population in the coastal regions is about three times higher than the global average. 

Temperate Region Meaning 

In the study of geography, the temperate climates of Earth mainly occur in the middle latitudes (that is 40° to 60° N/S of Equator), this is located between the tropics and the polar regions of the Earth.

The temperate region has a moderate climate this type of climate lacks extremes in temperature, they are associated with a moderate type of climate temperate.

Temperature Zones of Earth 

The temperate zone of the earth is divided into five distinct zones. The distinction is based on their climatic conditions, which are known as geographical zones. These zones are the North Frigid Zone, the North Temperate Zone, the Tropics, the South Frigid Zone, and the South Temperate Zone.

Warm Temperate Climate

The Warm temperate climates are defined in the Koppen climate, which is classified as having the coldest month with an average temperature that drops below 18°C but which is more than −3°C. Thus, in a warm temperate climate, there is a distinct summer and winter season. The Warm temperate climates will have a lot of rainfall which may be seasonal or permanent.  

Temperate Areas 

The geographic location of the temperate latitudes of the Earth is between the subtropics and the polar circles. If the average yearly temperatures of these regions are calculated, they are not extreme, not burning hot nor are they freezing cold. Temperate temperature means moderate temperature. While in the tropics, the temperatures may drastically change between the summer and winter.

North Temperate Zone 

The North Temperate Zone which is situated between the Arctic Circle at the 66° 33' N and the Tropic of Cancer at 23° 27' N, covers 25.99% of Earth's surface. While, the Torrid Zone, between the Tropic of Cancer at 23° 27' N and the Tropic of Capricorn at 23° 27' S, covers approximately 39.78% of Earth's surface.

Tropical and Temperate Region 

The tropical zone has a temperature of 65-degree F or above. The tropical region is also referred to as tropical or the torrid zone. While, in the temperate region, there is a variation in temperature which is not extreme of cold nor of hot. This region lies between the equator and the pole. 

The tropical regions are the area of the Earth which is between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn, from the latitude lines 23.5 degrees north and south of the equator, respectively. While the temperate regions are between the subtropical and the polar regions.

Temperate Zone Latitude

In geography, the temperate climates of the Earth occur somewhere in the middle of latitudes 40° to 60° N/S of the Equator. This spans between the tropics and the polar regions of the Earth.

In the two temperate zones of the earth, it consists of tepid latitudes. Here the sun is never at the top of the head, here the climate is mild which is generally ranging from warmer to cooler regions.

The four annual seasons which occur in these areas are – Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter.  

Europe, Northern Asia, Central America comes under the North Temperate zone. While, South America, South Australia comes under the Southern Temperate Zone. 

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

1. What is Mediterranean Climate?

Ans.  The distinct mark of the Mediterranean climate is that it has mild and wet winters and warm to hot, dry summers. This occurs on the west side of the continents between 30° and 40° latitude. While the large mass of water is another unique feature of the Mediterranean region.

The cause of this type of climate is connected to the large bodies of water such as the Mediterranean Sea and its ocean currents. During the summer, the cold currents keep the climate quite mild and dry. While during the winter the water that got warmed in the summer moves in the land warm and thus brings rain.

2. What is Hemi Boreal Climate?

Ans. Hemi Boreal type climate indicates the midway between the temperate climate and subarctic (or the boreal) zones. This term is most frequently used in the context of studying ecosystems.

The forest shares feature with the temperate zone forest to the south. Coniferous trees are found in the Hemi Boreal forests. Other trees like Oak, Maple, Ash trees and also abundant in this forest. 

3. What is Koppen Climate Classification?

Ans. The Koppen climate classification divides the climates into five distinct and main climate groups, while each of these is being divided that is based on the seasonal precipitation and its temperature patterns. 

The Five Main Groups are:

A (tropical)

B (dry)

C (temperate)

D (continental)

E (polar)

The group and its subgroup are represented by a respective letter.

Share this with your friends