Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Class 10 IT Syllabus 2023-24

Last updated date: 23rd May 2024
Total views: 119.4k
Views today: 3.19k

CBSE Class 10 Information Technology Syllabus 2023-24

The modern-day world is driven by software and electronics. Almost everywhere, you will find the application of software, making lives easier and better. To better grasp the basic concepts of Information Technology, CBSE has designed the Class 10 IT syllabus efficiently. The chapters and curriculum in this syllabus have been divided into four crucial parts.

The segmentation of the chapters and activities of the IT Syllabus Class 10 Term 2 will clearly explain how the education board plans to introduce students to the concepts of employability skills, sustainability, IT basics, etc. Such skills will be crucial for students wanting to pursue an IT career.

Popular Vedantu Learning Centres Near You
Mithanpura, Muzaffarpur
location-imgVedantu Learning Centre, 2nd Floor, Ugra Tara Complex, Club Rd, opposite Grand Mall, Mahammadpur Kazi, Mithanpura, Muzaffarpur, Bihar 842002
Visit Centre
Anna Nagar, Chennai
location-imgVedantu Learning Centre, Plot No. Y - 217, Plot No 4617, 2nd Ave, Y Block, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040
Visit Centre
Velachery, Chennai
location-imgVedantu Learning Centre, 3rd Floor, ASV Crown Plaza, No.391, Velachery - Tambaram Main Rd, Velachery, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600042
Visit Centre
Tambaram, Chennai
location-imgShree Gugans School CBSE, 54/5, School road, Selaiyur, Tambaram, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600073
Visit Centre
Avadi, Chennai
location-imgVedantu Learning Centre, Ayyappa Enterprises - No: 308 / A CTH Road Avadi, Chennai - 600054
Visit Centre
Deeksha Vidyanagar, Bangalore
location-imgSri Venkateshwara Pre-University College, NH 7, Vidyanagar, Bengaluru International Airport Road, Bengaluru, Karnataka 562157
Visit Centre
View More

CBSE Class 10 Information Technology Syllabus 2023-24

The Class 10 IT Syllabus 2022-23 has mostly stayed the same. Based on the previous syllabus for this subject of Class 10, the chapters have been segmented to form two theoretical parts, one practical part and one fieldwork or project. This segmentation clearly shows how intuitively the board has planned to introduce the basic and advanced concepts of Information Technology to the students.

Here is the proper segmentation of the chapters, practical work and project for students to properly understand the Class 10 IT syllabus.

Part A – Employability Skills

  • This section has five units. They are:

  • Unit 1 – Communication Skills-II

  • Unit 2 – Self-Management Skills-II

  • Unit 3 – ICT Skills-II

  • Unit 4 – Entrepreneurial Skills-II

  • Unit 5 – Green Skills-II

Part B – Subject-based Skills

As the name suggests, this part of Class 10 Information Technology Syllabus 2023 introduces the basic chapters of IT to the students. They are four units in this part.

  • Unit 1 – Digital Documentation (Advanced)

  • Unit 2 – Electronic Spreadsheet (Advanced)

  • Unit 3 – Database Management System

  • Unit 4 – Web Applications and Security

Part C – Practical

As the name suggests, this part of the syllabus is based on the IT skills students have developed in this curriculum. They will use their skills to understand how the concepts are used in real time for various purposes. It will end with a viva conducted in the school. The sections are:

  • Advanced Documentation

  • Advanced Spreadsheets

  • Databases

  • Viva

Part D – Project Work

This part of the syllabus intends to expose students to the study of real-life cases of IT. They will do case studies and learn how to summarise data reports, how to represent documents, spreadsheets, etc.

It will contain a portfolio designed by a student that showcases a minimum of five problems solved using the IT concepts taught in Class 10.

Marking Scheme of Class 10 IT syllabus

The marking scheme explained by the CBSE board for Class 10 IT will clearly explain the importance of the parts described above.



Employability Skills


Subject Specific Skills


Practical Work


Project Work / Practical File


Total Marks


As we can see, the theoretical part of this subject has 50 marks allotted. The rest 50 marks are allotted to practical work and projects. Students will have to give similar priorities to both sections to score good marks in Class 10 IT.

Tips to Study Class 10 Information Technology

Information technology is slightly different from the conventional subjects you studied in previous classes. To make it easier, here is a list of tips you can consider to study this subject.

  • Understand the Syllabus Well

The first step is to properly understand the CBSE Class 10 IT syllabus. By doing so, you can clearly dedicate your study time to grab the concepts of this subject well. Your proper segmentation of study time will do the trick.

  • Make Good Notes

One of the best ways to study and grasp new concepts is to prepare notes. It helps you to simplify the concepts and topics taught in Class 10 IT. You will also engage multiple senses in studying these concepts. Your retention power will automatically increase.

  • Identify your Strengths and Weaknesses

Study and prepare for the chapters included in this syllabus. Understand the Information Technology Class 10 Term 1 Syllabus and Term II syllabus properly and identify your strengths and weaknesses. Work on your weaknesses and score well.

  • Practice More

Practice solving question papers more so that you can understand how to use the concepts you have studied. It will help you gain confidence and locate the issues you face in studying this subject.

Studying Class 10 IT Syllabus Made Easier

Seek professional academic assistance from the top experts to study the Information Technology Class 10 Term 1 Syllabus. Understand the concepts of Class 10 IT with proper practice and give similar importance to all the parts.

FAQs on Class 10 IT Syllabus 2023-24

1. What is the marking scheme for CBSE Class 10 IT practical work?

The marking scheme for CBSE Class 10 Information Technology Practical Work is 30. Students will use their knowledge and skills to develop hands-on skills and score well in this section.

2. How can I study the new concepts of Class 10 IT?

Focus on the classroom sessions, make notes and seek professional assistance from the top subject experts of Vedantu.

3. How many parts are there in the CBSE Class 10 Information Technology syllabus?

There are four parts to this syllabus. The parts are:

  • Employability skills

  • Subject-based skills

  • Practical work

  • Project work

A total of 100 marks is segregated accordingly among these parts of the syllabus.