Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Which thermal power station is not in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana?
A. Ramagundam
B. Kolaghat
C. Kottagundam
D. Simhadripuram

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 384k
Views today: 7.84k
384k+ views
Hint: In a power station where heat energy is converted into electric power is termed as a thermal power station.

Complete Answer: The biggest source of power in India is the thermal power stations. It produces more than 70 percent of the total energy consumed in India.

Now let us examine the options:
Option A - The NTPC (National Thermal Power Corporation Limited) Ramagundam power station is situated in the district of Peddapalli of Telangana. It is the first “Super Thermal Power Station” in the country which is ISO 14001 certified. At present, it is the largest power station in South India with a capacity of 2600 MW.
Option B - The Kolaghat thermal power station is situated in Mecheda which is approximately 55 kilometres away from Kolkata, West Bengal. The capacity of this thermal station is 1260 MW.
Option C - The Kottagundam thermal power station has an installed capacity of 1800 MW with four units in operation. It is situated at Paloncha in the state of Telangana, India. It is a part of the Telangana Power Generation Corporation Limited.
Option D - Simhadripuram or the Simhadri Super thermal power plant is a modern coal-fired power plant located in the outskirts of Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh. It is also a part of the National Thermal Power Corporation Limited. It has a capacity of 2000 MW with four units in operation.

Thus, the correct answer is option (B).

Note: India’s first 800 MW unit thermal power plant the Ultra Mega Power Project (UMPP) has been implemented near the port city of Mundra, Gujarat. It uses superficial technology and is a coal-based thermal power plant.