Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Which of the following pairs shows the correct location of Thermal Power Plant in Karnataka?
a)Raichur and Gulbarga
b)Raichur and Bellary
c)Bellary and Chitradruga
d)Bellary and Kolar

Last updated date: 18th Jun 2024
Total views: 385.8k
Views today: 8.85k
385.8k+ views
Hint:Thermal power station is a power station in which electricity is generated from heat energy. Thermal power plants are responsible for 65%of electricity that is generated in the country. 85%of thermal power generated in these plants is coal based.

Complete Answer:Karnataka Power Corporation Limited (KPCL)is responsible for generating electricity in the state of Karnataka. KPCL has 3 operational thermal power plants in the state.
-Raichur Thermal Power Plant was the first plant to be set up in the state and is responsible for 70% of the electricity generated.
-Bellary Thermal Power Station Unit I was commissioned in 2007 and Unit II was commissioned in 2012. It is located in Kudatini and has two coal fired units with 500MW each.
-Yermarus Thermal Power Station Unit I was commissioned in 2015 and Unit II was commissioned in 2017. It is India's first 800MW supercritical thermal power plant.

Let us look at the other cities mentioned in the question. The city of Gulbarga in Karnataka is of historical importance as it has famous religious structures like Khwaja Banda Nawaz Dargah, the Sharana Basaveshwara Temple and the Buddha Vihar.
Chitradurga is situated in a hilly area and hence it has windmills and wind farms.
Kolar in Karnataka is famous for its goldmines and has a solar power plant.

Therefore option (B) is correct.

Note:India’s ten biggest thermal plants are all coal based. The Vindhyachal Thermal Power Station in the Singrauli district of Madhya Pradesh is the biggest thermal power plant in India. National Thermal Power Corporation owns five of the ten biggest thermal power plants in India.