Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The Union Execution which consists of the President, Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers is a powerful body in a parliamentary Democracy. In this context answer the following question.
Mention any four Legislative powers of the Cabinet.

Last updated date: 20th Jun 2024
Total views: 386.4k
Views today: 9.86k
386.4k+ views
Hint: The decision to adopt the Parliamentary form of government has certain rules; the executive is continuously responsible before the legislature and the latter has the power to remove the executive from the office by passing a vote of no-confidence.

Complete answer:
The Cabinet is the center of the Council of Ministers. The Constitution of India does not mention a Cabinet. The Indian Cabinet is based on the model of the Cabinet in England. The size of the Cabinet is small and consists of nearly 15 to 20 members.
The Cabinet carries out its work through its several standing committees such as; Political Affairs Committee, Defense Committee, Planning Committee, Economic policy committee, Foreign Affairs Committee, Parliamentary Affairs Committee, and some other such committees.
The Prime Minister heads some of these committees, while others are headed by some senior ministers. These committees help the Cabinet in its task of policy-making. In the Parliamentary Democracy of India, the President is the Head of the State as well the nominal chief executive, and the Council of Ministers headed by the Prime Minister is the real and powerful executive.
The Cabinet has mainly four major powers;
1. It approves all to be introduced in the parliament.
2. It approves all-important appointments to be made.
3. It solves interdepartmental conflicts.
4. It establishes co-ordination and co-operation within the government and implements government policies.

Note: The Cabinet takes all the decisions on behalf of the Council of Ministers. The decision of the Cabinet is the decision of the Council.