Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The Supreme Court is located in _____.
A. New Delhi
B. Mumbai
C. Kolkata
D. Chennai

Last updated date: 18th Jun 2024
Total views: 385.8k
Views today: 6.85k
385.8k+ views
Hint:1. The shifting of the capital from Kolkata to this city commenced in 1911.
2. It was inaugurated as the new capital of India on 13th February 1931.

Complete answer:
The Supreme Court of India is the highest court under the Indian Constitution. It is the supreme judicial body of the Indian government and also has the power to review any executive and legislative actions. It was established on 1st October 1937 as the Federal Court of India under the Government of India Act, 1935.
It has been known as the Supreme Court of India since 28th January 1950. The first Chief Justice of India and the Head of the Court was H. J. Kania. The Indian Constitution provided the Supreme Court with one Chief Justice and seven judges, and authorized the Parliament to increase the number in future. Today the Supreme Court consists of a maximum of 34 judges.
It protects the fundamental rights of the citizens, settles disputes between government authorities and also between state and central government or even between two state governments. The decision or the judgment of the Supreme court is binding on all courts in India.
The building of the Supreme Court has a Central wing, Left wing and a Right wing. There are a total of 15 courtrooms in the various sections or wings of the building.

Hence, the option A is the correct answer.

Note: The ‘Collegium’ is a group of 4 senior-most judges and the Chief Justice of India. The present Members of the Collegium are-
- Sharad Arvind Bobde (Chief Justice)
- N. V. Ramana
- Rohinton Fali Nariman
- Uday Umesh Lalit
- Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar