Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The outermost range of the Himalayas is called the _________.
A) Greater Himalayas
B) Lesser Himalayas
C) Shiwaliks
D) Purvanchal

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 385.5k
Views today: 10.85k
385.5k+ views
The Himalayas are considered to be the tallest and the youngest furrow mountain ranges or latitudes of the world. Their geological pattern is young, shaky and flexible since the Himalayan uplift is an endless cycle, making them one of the tallest earthquake-prone areas or regions of the world.

Complete answer:
Outer Himalayas are called Siwalik likewise spelt as Shiwalik, they are the sub-Himalayan range of the northern Indian subcontinent. It expands west-northwestward for an extra 1,000 miles from the Tisza River in Sikkim state through Nepal, across northwestern India, and into northern Pakistan. However only 10 miles broad in places, the extent has a typical peak of 3,000 to 4,000 feet.
The Shivalik have these features:
Shivalik extends over a width of 10 t0 50 km and maintains an elevation varying between 900and 1110m.
These ranges are composed of loose sediments and the valleys are usually coated with heavy gravel and alluvium.

Thus, option (C) is correct.

The outer Himalayas are also identified as Manak Parbat in historical times. Shivalik symbolizes the tresses of Shiva. It extends about 2,400 km long surrounding an area that begins nearly from the Indus and stops close to the Brahmaputra, with an extent of nearly 90 km between the Teesta and the Raidak streams in Assam. The width of the Shivalik Hills ranges from about 10 to 50, their average height is around 1500-2000 m and is known as an outer range because of its position among the 3 Himalayan mountain ranges.