Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The no-confidence motion is passed in the Lok Sabha against the _______________________
A. Independent MP
B. Ruling party
C. Opposition party
D. President

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 384.6k
Views today: 11.84k
384.6k+ views
Hint:As per Rule 198 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Lok Sabha, the motion on no-confidence is a motion expressing want of confidence in the Council of Ministers."

Complete answer:
Once the 'no-confidence' motion is moved, and the Speaker is of the opinion that the motion is proper, the Speaker reads the motion to the House. The motion must be approved by at least 50 members. If not the motion will fail and the member who moved the motion will be told of the motion.
If the motion has been approved, the Speaker will declare the day on which the motion is to be addressed. The day cannot be more than 10 days from the date of approval of the motion. The Speaker can allow a day, several days, or part of a day to debate the motion. The Speaker can also set a time limit for speeches during the debate.
The motion shall then be put to the vote at a fixed time or on the last day reserved for debate. Voting can be carried out by means of "Voice Vote," "Voting Division" or other means.
A no-confidence motion needs a majority vote to be held by the House. If individuals or parties do not vote, those numbers will be removed from the overall strength of the House and the majority will be taken into consideration.
If the government loses the 'confidence' motion or if the 'no-confidence' motion is approved by the majority, the government of the day must resign.

Hence the answer is Option B - Ruling Party.

Note: The first no-confidence was moved by Acharya Kripalani in August 1963 against then PM Jawaharlal Nehru. Indira Gandhi faced the motion of no-confidence as many as 15 times. n The other Prime Ministers faced the motion in the past were Lal Bahadur Shastri, Morarji Desai, Rajiv Gandhi and PV Narasimha Rao.
The first motion that almost passed, which led to the downfall of the government, was that of Y.B. Chavan against the government of Morarji Desai. It's almost like Desai resigned before the motion could be put to vote.