Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The equator passes through
A) Cameroon
B) Costa Rica
C) Kenya
D) Venezuela

Last updated date: 24th Jul 2024
Total views: 350.1k
Views today: 7.50k
350.1k+ views
Hint: An equator is an imaginary line that circles a planet or other celestial body in the centre. At 0 degrees latitude, it is halfway between the North Pole and the South Pole. The globe is divided into two halves by an equator: The Northern Hemisphere and the Southern Hemisphere. At its Equator, the Earth is the largest.

Complete answer:
Ecuador, Colombia, Brazil, Sao Tome and Principe, Gabon, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Uganda, Kenya, Somalia, Maldives, Indonesia, and Kiribati are all located on the Equator.

Now, let us look at the given options:
A) Cameroon: This option is incorrect because Cameroon is a country located north of the equator.
B) Costa Rica: This option is incorrect because Costa Rica is 10 degrees north of the equator north of the equator.
C) Kenya: This is the correct option. The Equator passes through Timboroa, Nanyuki, and Maseno in Kenya.
D) Venezuela: This option is incorrect because Venezuela is situated in the northern hemisphere, at 552.75 miles (889.56 kilometres) north of the equator.

Thus the correct answer is option ‘C’.

Note: East Africa is home to Kenya. Its terrain rises from the Indian Ocean's low coastal plain to mountains and plateaus in the centre. The majority of Kenyans live in the highlands, where Nairobi, the capital, sits at 5,500 feet above sea level (1,700 meters). It's all home to tigers, elephants, and rhinos, among other animals.