Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres

Name the three prominent sub-ranges of Himachal Himalaya.

Last updated date: 01st Mar 2024
Total views: 278.1k
Views today: 4.78k
IVSAT 2024
278.1k+ views
Hint: Himachal Pradesh got its name from the Himalayas. Himachal is a Himalayan state that means "land of snowy mountains.” The vast mountain system known as the Himalayas stretches almost 2,500 kilometres from north to south, with a breadth of 250 to 300 kilometres. The Himalayas are India's newest mountain range, dating back 40 million years.

Complete answer:
From north to south, the Himalayas are divided into three major divisions:
(1) Himadri (Greater Himalayas): It is the Himalayan mountain range's northernmost range. It is home to the majority of the world's highest peaks, including Mt. Everest, Kanchenjunga, and others. The range contains several glaciers, notably Gangotri Glacier and Satopanth Glacier. India, China, Nepal, Pakistan, Bhutan, and Tibet are among the political entities with territory in this range.

(2)The Himachal: also known as the "Lower Himalayas." This mountain range is located to the south of Himadri. Almost all of the hill stations, such as Manali, Shimla, and Nainital, are found in this area.
 Due to a significant fault system known as the "Main Boundary Thrust," the southern slopes of the Himachal Range are steep and nearly uninhabitable. The top and northern slopes are gentle enough to accommodate terraced fields and upland pastures.

3) The Shivalik: The Shivalik Ranges have an average elevation of 900 to 1100 metres. These ranges are built up of sediments carried down by rivers coming from the Himalayan hills to the north. Dehradun, kotli dun, and patli dun are examples of duns that separate the lower Himalayas and the Shivalik.

Himadri, The Himachal and Shivalik are three prominent sub-ranges of Himachal Himalaya.

Note: Notable features of the Himachal Himalayas are stated below:
- The majority of ranges are made up of heavily crushed and altered rocks.
- They have an average height of roughly 3700m to 4500m above sea level and a 50-kilometre breadth.
Shimla, Nainital, Manali are significant hill stations...
- The Pir Panjal, Dhauladhar, and Mahabharat ranges are the most significant.