Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Name the three major divisions of the Himalayas from North to South.

Last updated date: 24th Jul 2024
Total views: 384k
Views today: 3.84k
384k+ views
Hint: The Himalaya is the loftiest mountain framework on our planet. It forms the northernmost ranges of India.

Complete answer: Three significant divisions of the Himalayas from north to south are:

(a) The Great or Inner Himalaya or Himadri: This is the northernmost range and is otherwise called 'Himadri'. This is the most consistent territory. The normal height of peaks in this range is 6,000 meters. All the conspicuous Himalayan pinnacles or peaks are in this range. The folds of the Great Himalayas are unpredictable in nature because of the elevated statues, the peaks of this reach are perpetually covered with snow. Famous ice sheets or glaciers like the Siachen Glacier, the Gangotri and Yamunotri, and so forth are found here

(b) The Lesser Himalaya (Himachal) : This range lies towards the south of the Great Himalayas. The height of peaks in this range differs from 3,700 to 4,500 meter. Average width of the Himachal range is 50 km. The main mountain range here is the Pir Panjal mountain and it is the longest range. Dhaula Dhar and Mahabharat are likewise significant ranges of lesser Himalayas. All extraordinary valleys like Kashmir Valley, Kangra Valley, Kullu Valley are found here. This area is otherwise called for its hill stations (for example Kullu,- Manali, Kufri, Shimla, Mussoorie, Nainital, and so on)

(c) The Outer Himalayas or The Shiwaliks: The height changes somewhere in the range of 900 and 1100 meters in this range. The width differs between 10 to 50 km. These ranges are made out of unconsolidated residue brought somewhere near the streams.
The longitudinal valleys lying between the Himachal and Shiwaliks are known as 'Dun'. For example The dun of Dehra, it is the greatest with a length of 35 km and width of 25 km.

Note: The extraordinary, topographically youthful mountain arc is around 1,550 miles long, extending from the peak of Nanga Parbat (26,660 feet) in the Pakistani-controlled segment of the Kashmir area to the Namcha Barwa peak in Tibet.