Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Mention the four seasons that prevail in India stating the months for each.

Last updated date: 22nd Jul 2024
Total views: 396.9k
Views today: 6.96k
396.9k+ views
Hint: India's climate is monsoon type and is found in south and southeast Asia. The season of India is affected by the two types of winds – the one blowing from the Arabic Sea and the other blowing from the Bay of Bengal.

Complete Answer:
The climate of India can be classified into four seasons, such as:
1. The Summer Season
It begins from March to the middle of June. The whole India experiences rise in temperature because of the summer solstice. During this season, hot violent winds called 'loo' blow during daytime in the north and north-west India. During this period pre-monsoon cyclones occur which are marked by violent winds that bring heavy rainfall and hailstorms. This cyclone has local name as given below:
- Nor Wester - Eastern India (West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha).
- Kalbaishakhi- West Bengal
- Cherry Blossom – Karnataka and Kerala
- Mango Shower – South India
- Bardoli Chheerha- Assam
2. The Rainy Season
It starts from the middle of June to September. This period is marked by low-pressure conditions over the northern plains. These south-east trade winds originate over the warm subtropical areas of the southern oceans. The inpouring of the south-west monsoon into India brings a total change in the weather which is associated to the easterly jet stream that moves toward the land masses in two branches-
-The Arabian Sea branch causes more rainfall on the Western coast of India and the Western Ghats. Mawsynram in the southern ranges of the Khasi Hills receives the highest average rainfall in the world.
-The Bay of Bengal branch enters India through West Bengal and enters Haryana, Punjab and Rajasthan through Bihar and Uttar Pradesh.
3. The Autumn Season starts after the rainy season. It begins from October to the middle of December. It is often called the retreating monsoon which is due to the gradual retreat of the south-west monsoon.
4. The Winter season starts from mid- November in northern India and stays till February. The temperature decreases from south to the north during this period. Days are warm, nights are cold and frost is common in the north. The peninsular region does not have a proper cold season which is scarcely noticeable and the change in temperature pattern during winters is due to the moderating influence of the sea.

Note: Earth's tilted axis causes the seasons. Each has its pattern of weather and varying hours of sunlight during the days. The northern and southern parts of Earth have different seasons at the same time.