Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

In a democratic set up, Parliament is supreme because _______.
A. It elects the President
B. It can impeach the Chief Justice.
C. It makes and can change the laws.
D. It enjoys the residuary powers.

Last updated date: 17th Jul 2024
Total views: 393.9k
Views today: 11.93k
393.9k+ views
Hint:The Parliament is considered to be the supreme body of India.
The members nominated or elected by the President in any of the houses of Parliament are known as the Members of Parliament. It is considered to be a bicameral legislature.

Complete answer:
Option A – The President of India is elected by both the houses, i.e. Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and the Legislative Assemblies of the state of India and territories. So, it does not make the Parliament supreme and is an incorrect answer.
Option B – The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court according to Article 124(4) of the Constitution can be impeached only by the order of the President. So, it is also not the correct answer.
Option C – The Parliament of India was founded on 26th January 1950 and it meets at Sansad Bhavan in New Delhi at least twice in a year. There are three sessions conducted every year which are the Budget Session during January/February to May, the Monsoon session during July to August/September and the Winter session from November to December. It consists of the President and the two houses, i.e. Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha with a strength of 543 and 245 respectively.
Parliament is regarded as the final authority for making or changing any laws in the country. It also exercises control over the government and no decision is possible to be taken without its support. It is also responsible for controlling money matters and is regarded to be the highest forum for discussion and debates on any public issues and get information on any matter. Thus, it is the correct answer.
Option D – The Parliament also enjoys the residuary powers because it is Supreme and already explained in the above point. So, it is not the correct answer.

Hence the correct answer is option C.

Note:The leader of Lok Sabha is Narendra Modi. The leader of Rajya Sabha is Thawar Chand Gehlot. The Chairman of Rajya Sabha is Venkaiah Naidu since 11th August 2017.