Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

How many countries did Yugoslavia disintegrate into?
A. 2
B. 3
C. 5
D. 6

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 385.8k
Views today: 9.85k
385.8k+ views
> Yugoslavia was a country situated in Southeast Europe and Central Europe.
> It was split into parts due to the conflict that occurred in the year 1990.
> It occupied a portion of Balkan Peninsula including the Adriatic Sea.

Complete answer:
Yugoslavia is a country which was formed after World War I in the year 1918 under the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes. The first head of the state was Peter I of Serbia in which the kingdom gained international recognition in the year 1922 on 13th July at the Conference of Ambassadors held in Paris. The name of the state was also changed in the year 1929 on 3rd October to the Kingdom of Yugoslavia. The president of the country was Josip Broz Tito.

In the year 1990 a serious political and economic crisis occurred due to which the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia was split apart into 6 parts affecting Bosnia and Herzegovina the most. The six parts were – Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia. Before the collapse of the country it was regarded as a powerful industrial region and an economic success. It is also well known for possessing the best armed forces in Europe.

Therefore the correct answer is D

> The capital of Yugoslavia was Belgrade.
> The prominent mountain of the country is Julian Alps and the Dinaric Alps.
> The currency of the country was Yugoslav Dinar.