Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

At present, how many districts are in Telangana State?
A) 10
B) 21
C) 29
D) 31

Last updated date: 20th Jun 2024
Total views: 386.1k
Views today: 10.86k
386.1k+ views
Telangana state of India, is found on the south-central stretch of the Indian peninsula on the high deccan plateau. It is the eleventh largest state in the twelfth most populated state in India.

Complete step by step solution:
The area got separated from the north-western part of Andhra Pradesh and a new state was formed called Telangana with Hyderabad as its capital. Telangana includes major cities like Warangal, Nizamabad, Karimnagar etc.
Telangana state is formed from thirty-one districts which are Adilabad, Bhadradri Kothagudem, Hyderabad, Jagitial, Jangaon, Jayashankar Bhupalpally, Jogulamba Gadwal, Kamareddy, Karimnagar, Khammam, Kumarambheem Asifabad, Mahabubabad, Mahabubnagar, Mancherial, Medak, Medchal-Malkajgiri, Nagarkurnool, Nalgonda, Nirmal, Nizamabad, Peddapalli, Rajanna Sircilla, Ranga Reddy, Sangareddy, Siddipet, Suryapet, Vikarabad, Wanaparthy, Warangal Rural, Warangal Urban and Yadadri Bhuvanagiri.
Taking area into consideration, Bhadradri Kothagudem is the largest district with an area of 7,483 square km and Hyderabad is the smallest with 217 square km. The highest populated district of Telangana is Hyderabad district with a population of 39,43,323 and Mulugu is considered as the least populated district with 2,94,671. Telangana consists of 68 Revenue Divisions and 584 Revenue Mandals or Tehsil.
Telangana had 10 districts when it was separated from Andhra Pradesh. East Godavari district was given back seven mandals of Bhadrachalam division. Twenty-one new districts were created on 11 October 2016, which lead to 31 districts in Telangana.

Therefore, the correct option is D, that is, 31 districts.

Additional information:
The economy of Telangana is mainly driven by agriculture. Godavari and Krishna, which are the two important rivers of India, flow through the state and provide irrigation.

Telangana is surrounded by states like Maharashtra to the north, Chhattisgarh to the east, Karnataka to the west and Andhra Pradesh to the east and south.