Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Who among the following was not a member of the Constituent Assembly established in July 1946?
A. Vallabhbhai Patel
B. Mahatma Gandhi
C. K.M. Munshi
D. J.B. Kripalani

Last updated date: 19th Jun 2024
Total views: 385.8k
Views today: 4.85k
385.8k+ views
Hint:The idea for the establishment of Constituent Assembly was given by M.N. Roy in the year 1934. In the year 1935 Indian National Congress also demanded for the establishment of Assembly.
Finally, in the year 1940 it was accepted by the British when C. Rajagopalachari raised his voice in the Constituent Assembly held on 15th November 1939.

Complete answer:
The Constituent Assembly was established for the purpose of drafting a Constitution for India. The first meeting was held on 9th December in 1946 and the last meeting was held on 24th January in 1950. The main task of the assembly was to free India and draft a new Constitution, to remove hunger of the people starving, to provide clothing to people and to provide every Indians the opportunity to develop or grow themselves according to their potential.
The Assembly consisted of 299 representatives among which 15 were women. There were a total 22 committees in which some of the important members were – B.R. Ambedkar, Jawaharlal Nehru, Vallabhbhai Patel, J.B. Kripalani, Harendra Coomar Mukherjee, Gopinath Bordoloi, A.V. Thakkar, Rajendra Prasad, G.V. Mavlankar, K.M. Munshi, B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya and Moturi Satyanarayana. So, Mahatma Gandhi is not included in the list.

Therefore, the correct answer is Option B, i.e. Mahatma Gandhi.

Note:The Constitution of India came into force on 26th January in the year 1950.
The first speaker was Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar. The National Flag of India was adopted on 22nd July 1947.