Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

IIT Campuses to Open in Seven Countries

August 26, 2022
share icon

Now, students from UAE, Malaysia, UK, Thailand, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, and Egypt will be able to study in IITs in their respective countries. IIT is all set to begin setting up its campuses in these countries. 

A 17-member committee has been formed by the central government to take care of the process of opening IIT campuses globally. The committee is headed by Dr. K Radhakrishnan, and he has released a 5-step plan for establishing IIT campuses in these seven mentioned countries. 

Seven Countries To Get IITs

Also Read: JEE Main Additional Attempt Plea To Be Addressed By Supreme Court Today

The step recommended by the committee head are listed below:

  • Selection of location and mentor

  • Selection of campus location

  • Selection of Academic Programme

  • Recruiting faculty and staff

  • Outreach and arrangement of seed fund

The countries for the establishment of IITs are on the basis of interest and commitment, the ecosystem for students and faculty, academic lineage, regulatory provisions, and the opportunity to improve India’s branding along with its relations with these countries. 

The Economic Diplomacy section of the Ministry of External Affairs arranged two virtual sessions in which a report was presented by 26 Indian mission heads. The report consists of the progress on the establishment of IITs in other countries. 

The report also highlighted that Indian High Commission in the UK has already received proposals from King’s College London, University of Exeter, University of Birmingham, University of Cambridge, University College London, and the University of Oxford. IIT Delhi is already in talks with the Department of Education and Knowledge, Abu Dhabi, UAE, while IIT Madras is in its early discussion with Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Tanzania for setting up IIT campuses. 

Competitive Exams after 12th Science