Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The second commitment period for the Kyoto Protocol was decided at

Last updated date: 18th Jun 2024
Total views: 403.5k
Views today: 4.03k
403.5k+ views
Hint: The second commitment period for Kyoto Protocol was for the period 2013- 2020 was accepted in 2012, where countries including India and the capital of Qatar ratified the second commitment period of the Kyoto Protocol and committed to limit the emission of the greenhouse

Complete answer:
The Kyoto Protocol is a worldwide treaty that continues the 1992 United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) that advised countries to decrease greenhouse gas emissions, grounded on the scientific consensus that global warming is occurring and it is caused by human-made CO2 emissions.
The second commitment period was accepted in 2012, which is also called the Doha Amendment, in which 37 countries were part of it.

Additional Information: -The first Kyoto Protocol was accepted on 11 December 1997, in Kyoto, Japan, and came into application on 16 February 2005. As of now, there are 192 parties committed to the Protocol.
-The Kyoto Protocol acknowledges that specific countries have diverse capabilities in fighting climate change, depending on economic development, these countries have to limit current emissions on the basis of what they are historically responsible for the increased levels of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere.
So, the correct answer is Doha.

Note: -The Kyoto Protocol's first commitment period began in 2008 and completed in 2012 where all 36 countries that fully partaken in the first commitment period followed with the Protocol.
-Japan, New Zealand, and Russia were participants of the Kyoto protocols first-round but they did not take on new targets in the second commitment period
-Other major countries which did not participate in the second-round targets are Canada and the United States withdrew from the Kyoto Protocol in 2012.