Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Somatostatin is produced by
A. Adenohypophysis
B. Neurohypophysis
C. Pineal gland
D. Basal part of diencephalon and Pancreas

Last updated date: 23rd Jun 2024
Total views: 395.1k
Views today: 7.95k
395.1k+ views
Hint: Hormones are the chemical messengers released by various endocrine glands. Brain consists of three parts- fore brain, midbrain and hindbrain. The diencephalon which is a part of the forebrain releases various hormones. The main parts of diencephalon include thalamus and hypothalamus.

Complete Answer:
Endocrine glands released various hormones in the bloodstream as they are the ductless glands. The blood carries these hormones to the target organs leading to their function.
- Somatostatin is also known as the growth hormone inhibitor hormone. It is a type of peptide hormone which is inhibitory in function. Itr inhibits the release of various secondary hormones from their respective endocrine glands. Along with inhibiting growth hormone, it also inhibits the release of insulin and glucagon.
- Secretion of somatostatin: In pyloric antrum, the duodenum and pancreas- there are various delta cells. These delta cells produce this hormone.
- In the brain, it is produced by the hypothalamus. After its release from the hypothalamus, it is carried to the anterior pituitary where it stops the release of growth hormone. So, this hormone mediates the negative feedback effects of growth hormone.
- Adenohypophysis releases the Thyroid stimulating hormone. Neurohypophysis releases the vasopressin and oxytocin. Pineal gland secretes the melatonin hormone. The somatostatin is produced by the basal part of diencephalon and pancreas.

So, the correct answer is option (D).

Additional information: It is an inhibitory hormone. Along with the inhibition of growth hormone, it also affects the release of some other hormones released from anterior pituitary such as TSH and Prolactin.

Note: The endocrine glands release various hormones. Somatostatin is released by diencephalon which is a part of the forebrain. It consists of thalamus, hypothalamus, subthalamus and epithalamus. It is a type of inhibitory hormone.