Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Single-celled eukaryotes are included in
A. Monera
B. Protista
C. fungi
D. Archaea.

Last updated date: 20th Jun 2024
Total views: 404.4k
Views today: 6.04k
404.4k+ views
Hint: Unicellular eukaryotes are single-celled microorganisms with a defined nucleus, mitochondria and other organelles. They include phytoplankton, or algae, and zooplankton, or protozoa.

Complete Answer:
To answer this question, first, we need to know about single-celled organisms. A unicellular organism is also known as a single-celled organism.Unicellular organisms contain a single cell, unlike a multicellular organism which contains multiple cells. Unicellular organisms are divided into two classes such as prokaryotic organisms and eukaryotic organisms. All prokaryotes are unicellular and are classified into bacteria and archaea. The eukaryotic domain contains four kingdoms or subcategories: protists, fungi, plants and animals. Of these, protists contain only single celled organisms while the fungi kingdom contains both.
Now, let us find the solution from the option.
->Kingdom Monera consists of unicellular organisms along with a prokaryotic cell arrangement (including no nuclear membrane), like bacteria.
->The Protists are a kingdom of simple eukaryotic organisms, composed of a single cell or a colony of similar cells. It was classified into three groups such as the plant like algae, animals such as protozoans, and fungus such as slime molds.
->Archaea constitute a domain of single-celled organisms. These microorganisms lack cell nuclei and are therefore prokaryotes.

Thus, the correct option is ‘B’. i.e. Protista.

Note:For the growth, development and reproduction of the particular organisms, the cell division must be happening to produce more and more cells to the tissues. The process of mitosis is responsible for the cell division in the somatic cells in the animals.