Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Name the first two vertebrae of a mammal spine.

Last updated date: 17th Jun 2024
Total views: 393.6k
Views today: 5.93k
393.6k+ views
Hint: Vertebrae of the mammals consists of the 33 individuals and the interlocking bones that form the structure of the spinal segment. These vertebrae are numbered and isolated into cervical areas, thoracic areas, lumbar areas, sacrum areas, and the coccyx areas.

Complete Answer:
The initial two vertebrae of a vertebrate spine are atlas (first cervical vertebra) and axis (second cervical vertebrae).
Atlas: The atlas is the first and the principal cervical vertebra and expresses with the occiput of the head and the axis. It varies from the other cervical vertebrae in that it has no vertebral body and no spinous cycle. Rather, the chart book has horizontal masses which are associated by a front and back curve. Every horizontal mass contains a superior articular facet and an inferior articular facet.

Axis: The axis part of the vertebrae is the second vertebrae and it is easily identifiable than the other parts due to the presence of the dens which broadens superiorly from the foremost point of the vertebra. This forms the joint medial atlanto axial joint between the dens and the anterior arch of the atlas and this helps in the rotation of the head independently.

Note: The vertebral column provides support to the trunk, all the muscles attached to them. It also protects the spinal cord. This part of the body acts as the site of the haemopoiesis. Hematopoiesis is the process in which the blood cells like RBC, WBC are produced from the bone marrow.