Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Name the different types of teeth. What is the function of each type?

Last updated date: 15th Jul 2024
Total views: 345.3k
Views today: 7.45k
345.3k+ views
Hint: Teeth are present in almost all mammals and functions to break down food which makes it easy for swallowing and digesting. Humans are known to have diphyodont, which is two sets of teeth one which occurs after six months followed by the adult teeth.

Complete answer:
Human teeth are known to be made up of two main parts- the crown and the neck. The crown is the part which is covered by enamel which is known to be the hardest known material. Teeth in humans are of four different types-incisors, canines, premolars and molars. The incisors are the eight teeth that are located in the front center of the mouth which are also known to be the first adult teeth that develop in humans. The function of the incisors is mostly to bite into the food. Canines are the next set of teeth that develop, four of them are present and they are known to be the sharpest teeth. The function of canines is to tear food. The premolars are eight in total and unlike canines they have flat biting surfaces. Their function is to tear and crush the food. Molars are the largest teeth and also have a flat surface. Their function is to grind, tear and crush the food so that it can be swallowed without difficulty.

Note: Since teeth play an important role in swallowing and digestion proper care must be taken of them such as maintaining proper oral hygiene by keeping the mouth clean as well as carrying out protective treatments such as fluoride therapy, dental sealants, etc.