Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Larvae of butterfly is known as

Last updated date: 17th Jun 2024
Total views: 413.1k
Views today: 9.13k
413.1k+ views
Hint: Larval form is the stage of development. Lavra eats and grows by feeding on their host plants. They collect necessary nutrients from the host required by the developing butterfly.

Complete answer:
Larvae of the butterfly are also known as caterpillars.

The lifecycle of a butterfly:
The butterfly undergoes a process called metamorphosis via four developmental stages i.e. egg, larva, pupa, and adult.
- Egg: Adult female butterfly lays eggs on the plant which will then become the food for the hatching caterpillars. Eggs can be laid during spring, summer, or fall depending on the species of butterfly.
- Caterpillar-the Feeding Stage: The next stage is the larva (aka caterpillar). A caterpillar's sole purpose is to consume food and grow. As the larva grows it splits its skin and sheds it about 4 or 5 times. Food eaten is stored and used later by an adult.
- Pupa-The Transition Stage: When the caterpillar has consumed enough food, it stops feeding and is fully grown. It now becomes a pupa. Cells at this stage start to divide rapidly.
- Adult-The Reproductive Stage: Fully grown mature butterfly having wings, eyes, legs, and all other developed structures.

So, the correct answer is ‘Caterpillar’.

- Butterfly’s pupa is also known as chrysalis.
- The adult butterfly’s job is to reproduce.
- The butterfly develops through complete metamorphosis and the larval form is different from the adult form i.e. both the forms do not resemble.
seo images

Fig: The life cycle of a butterfly showing different developmental stages.