Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Intercalary meristems are
A. Basal
B. Nodal
C. Internodal
D. Apical

Last updated date: 20th Jun 2024
Total views: 395.7k
Views today: 3.95k
395.7k+ views
Hint: Plants contain tissues and meristem is a type of tissue in plants. It consists of meristematic cells (undifferentiated cells) that are capable of cell division. The meristematic cell can develop in any other type of cell in plants. Meristematic cells are undifferentiated or incompletely differentiated cells. These are totipotent and hence capable of continuous cell division.

Complete answer:
There are three types of meristematic tissues:
• Apical (at the tips)-These are the completely undifferentiated meristems in a plant. These differentiate into three kinds. The primary meristems produce the two secondary meristem types. The secondary meristems are also known as lateral meristems as they are involved in lateral growth. There are two types:
• Shoot apical meristem (SAM), form organs like the leaves and flowers, and root apical meristem (RAM), they give meristematic cells for future root.
• Intercalary (in the middle)- These occur only in monocot (eg- grass) stems at the base of nodes. These are capable of division, and they show for rapid growth and regrowth. The length of petiole increases due to the activity of intercalary meristem hence it is termed as intermodal. It is involved in the growth in the length of the middle position.
• Lateral meristem (at the sides).

Hence, the correct answer is option (C).

Note: Some important points-
The intercalary meristem occurs only in monocots, especially grass. This is essential to plants as it serves as an adaptive mechanism for herbivory.

The meristem is divided into three main types such as-
• Protoderm- Forms the epidermis.
• Ground meristem- Form ground tissues.
• Procambium- Form Vascular tissues.