Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

In the cortex area of Kidney all the structures are found except
A)Bowman’s capsule
B)Distal convoluted tubule
C)Majority of collecting duct
D)Malphigian body

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 384.3k
Views today: 5.84k
384.3k+ views
Hint: The Kidney is the main excretory organ in our body. The structural and functional unit of Kidney is called the nephron. The nephron is mainly made up of malpighian body, PCT, DCT, collecting duct and Henle’s loop.

Complete answer:
To solve this question, we must know about the structure of the kidney.

The human kidney mainly comprised of three layers-
Renal cortex- The outermost region of the kidney is the renal cortex which lies in between the renal capsule and the renal medulla. The space inside has blood vessels which connect to the nephron. It contains glomerular capillaries, PCT, DCT, Bowman’s capsule.
Renal Medulla –The innermost region of the kidney is the renal medulla which is arranged in a pyramid like fashion. It consists of structure, especially the collecting duct.
Renal Pelvis- The concave part of the bean shaped kidney called the helium where the nerves and blood vessels enter and exit.
The glomerulus and Bowman’s capsule together is known as the malpighian body. It is present in the renal cortex.

Hence, the correct answer is option (C)

Note: The collecting duct is located in the pyramid of the medulla. It is the last part of the nephron which is long and twisted. It collects urine and moves it into the renal pelvis and ureters. The main function of collecting ducts is reabsorption of water.