Questions & Answers

Draw a neat labelled diagram of human sperm

91.8k+ views
Hint: Sexual reproduction is a process of fusion of a haploid male gamete and a haploid female gamete to form a diploid zygote. Sperm is the male gamete which is haploid and contains 23 chromosomes.

Complete answer:
Sperms are a part of sexual reproduction. The structure of sperm can morphologically and functionally be divided into two distinct parts.

Human sperm is divided into four parts- head, neck, body and tail. The head of the sperm is of the size of nearly five micrometres. The head of a sperm contains a nucleus which contains a haploid number of chromosomes. The acrosome contains an enzyme hyaluronidase which has an important role in fertilization.
It dissolves the membrane of the egg and facilitates the entry of the sperm into the ovum. The acrosome is the cap-like structure at the top of the head of the sperm. The neck is a small constricted part between the head and the main body. The tail is nearly 50 micrometre in length.
The body of the sperm contains mitochondria. The mitochondria are the powerhouse of the sperm. It provides energy for the travelling of the sperm in the female genital tract.
The tail of the sperm is responsible for the movement of the sperm. The motion of the tail moves the sperm forward. The tail is nearly 50 micrometre in length.

Note: The entire sperm is enclosed in a single plasma membrane including the head and the tail. The body of sperm is also called the middle piece. A human male ejaculates nearly 200-300 million sperms at the time of coitus.