Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

What does the pupil of the eyes do?

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 392.4k
Views today: 9.92k
392.4k+ views
Hint: Human eye consists of many structures viz. cornea, lens, sclera, pupil, retina, aqueous and vitreous humour. Each of them performs their respective function which helps in visual sensing. The pupil of the eye regulates the light.

Complete answer:
Eyes are the paired structure which is present in the socket of the skull called orbits. Parts of the eyes include:
1) Pupil: It is a small hole between the iris, through which light enters the eye. In the dim light, it widens to allow more entry of light so that our eyes could perceive it, while in bright light, it narrows to protect the eyes from such intense bright light. Its diameter is regulated by the muscle fibres of iris.
2) Cornea: It is the transparent spherical membrane covering the front of the eye. The light enters the eye through this membrane.
3) Crystalline lens: It is a convex lens made up of transparent, soft jelly-like protein. It is held in position by the ligament attached to the ciliary body.
3) Sclera: It is the white portion of the eye which is composed of dense connective tissues and it is the external part of the eye.
4) Iris: It is a dark muscular diaphragm which is present between the cornea and the lens and it regulates the size of the pupil.
6) Retina: It is the inner layer of the eye which is mainly composed of three layers of neural cells. Ganglion cell in inside, a bipolar cell in middle and photoreceptor cell in outside. There are two types of photoreceptor cells (Rods and Cones) which are rich in light-sensitive protein.

Note: There are two types of vision:
1) Photopic vision: These are daylight vision and are regulated by cones.
2) Scotopic vision: These are twilight vision which is regulated by rods.