Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Comb jellies belong to ________

Last updated date: 15th Jul 2024
Total views: 347.1k
Views today: 10.47k
347.1k+ views
Hint: The ctenophore is a small and absolutely lovely creature. They are known as comb jellies because they move by using eight longitudinal rows of cilia. Light is scattered when the cilia beat, resulting in a rainbow of colors.

Complete answer:
The beating combs act as a prism, breaking the light down into its component colors. Some comb jellies (like many other animals in the deep sea) produce their light, a process known as bioluminescence.

Ctenophora is the genus of comb jellies. Ctenophores are free-swimming, transparent, jelly-like, soft-bodied marine animals with biradial symmetry, comb-like ciliary plates for locomotion, and the lasso cells, but they lack nematocysts. They're also referred to as sea walnuts or comb jellies. Their nervous system is diffused, and the aboral end contains a sensory organ known as a statocyst.

• They have a pair of retractable tentacles that are long and solid.
•They do not have asexual reproduction or generational alternation.
•Skeletal, circulatory, respiratory, and excretory organs are absent.
• Their body organization is at the cell-tissue level.

Comb jellies are all carnivores. To catch prey larvae of marine invertebrates, they sometimes use sticky structures on long thin tentacles. When they catch prey, the comb jellies contract their tentacles to transport it to their mouth. Another type of comb jelly known as a lobate has a pair of sticky, expandable lobes for capturing prey. The third group of species, such as Beroe, engulf their prey in their mouths. They are voracious predators that even prey on other comb jellies.

Note: Comb jellies are found all over the ocean, from pole to pole, from the surface to the deepest depths. The majority live in the water column, but some live on the bottom. While there are approximately 200 described species, there are most likely many more.