Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres

Basidiospores, Ascospores, Germspores, Meiospores are products of ______ whereas sporangiospores, conidiospore, zoospores are products of _____
a. Meiosis and Meiosis
b. Mitosis and Meiosis
c. Mitosis and Mitosis
d. Meiosis and Mitosis

Last updated date: 26th Feb 2024
Total views: 306.3k
Views today: 3.06k
IVSAT 2024
306.3k+ views
Hint: Cell division is classified into two types: mitosis and meiosis. When most people say "cell division," they're referring to mitosis, the process of creating new body cells. Meiosis is the process by which egg and sperm cells are formed.

complete answer:
Mitosis: Mitosis is the stage of the cell cycle in which newly formed DNA is separated and two new cells with the same number and type of chromosomes as the parent nucleus are formed.
Cell division is the driving force behind cellular reproduction. Most eukaryotic cells divide in such a way that the ploidy or number of chromosomes remains constant, except germ cells, in which the number of chromosomes is halved. It primarily occurs in somatic cells. Sporangiospores, conidiospores, and zoospores are all types of spores.
Mitosis Stages:
Right before prophase, the cell spends the majority of its time in interphase, where preparations are made for the start of mitosis (the DNA is copied). However, because the actual process involves nucleus division, prophase is technically the first stage of this process.
The following are the various stages of mitosis that occur during cell division:
1. Interphase
2. Prophase
3. Prometaphase
4. Metaphase
5. Anaphase
6. Telophase
Meiosis: Meiosis is a cell division process that produces four daughter cells, each with half the number of chromosomes as the parent cell.
Meiosis refers to the process by which a single cell divides twice to produce four haploid daughter cells. These are the gametes, which are sperms in males and eggs in females. It happens in germinal or spore mother cells. Basidiospores, Ascospores, Germspores, and Meiospores are all types of spores.
Meiosis Stages:
The meiosis process is divided into two stages. Each stage is further subdivided into phases.
1. Meiosis I:
a) Prophase I
b) Metaphase I
c) Anaphase I
d) Telophase I
e) Cytokinesis I
2. Meiosis II:
a) Prophase II
b) Metaphase II
c) Anaphase II
d) Telophase II
e) Cytokinesis II

Thus, the correct answer is Option D: 'Meiosis and Mitosis'.

Mitosis aids in the repair of damaged tissues. When the cells near the damaged cells cannot sense the neighboring cells, they begin mitosis. The dividing cells communicate with one another and cover the damaged cells. Whereas, Meiosis is the process by which sex cells or gametes, which are responsible for sexual reproduction, are formed.