Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Bacteria bearing flagella all over the body are called
(A) Peritrichous
(B) Atrichous
(C) Monotrichous
(D) Cephalotrichous

Last updated date: 18th Jun 2024
Total views: 393.6k
Views today: 9.93k
393.6k+ views
Hint: Bacteria are the microscopic organisms that constitute the greater domain of the prokaryotic organisms. They are single celled organisms that are both harmful and useful to the other organisms. They live either outside or within the body of the other organisms.

Complete answer:
Flagellum is the type of the structure that are present in the body of the bacteria for the purpose of the movement and it also acts as the sensory organ. Their numbers vary from one bacterium to the other. Depending of its number and the arrangement, the bacteria is classified into five types as peritrichous, atrichous, amphitrichous, monotrichous and the lophotrichous.
seo images

If the bacteria have the flagellum all over the body, it is called as peritrichous. The clostridium tetani has this type of flagellum. The bacteria that have one flagellum in both the sides is called amphitrichous. The example for the amphitrichous is alcaligenes. If there are no flagella then it is called as atrichous. Example: lactobacillus. If the bacteria possess only one flagellum, then it is called monotrichous. Vibrio cholerae has only one flagellum for its movement. Then, if the bacteria have a greater number of flagella in one side but not all over the body is called lophotrichous. The pseudomonas, spirillum has this type of flagellum.

Hence the correct answer is OPTION(A)

Note: These bacteria are classified into three types based on the shape as spherical shaped bacteria, rod-shaped bacteria and the spiral shaped bacteria. The lactobacillus, the atrichous type of bacteria, helps in the conversion of the milk to the curd.