Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

How are members of Archaebacteria different from members of Eubacteria?

Last updated date: 20th Jun 2024
Total views: 374.1k
Views today: 4.74k
374.1k+ views
Hint: Two domains of the kingdom monera are archaebacteria and eubacteria. Monera, which comprises the least coordinated prokaryotic unicellular microorganisms on earth. Single-celled microorganisms, which are commonly called prokaryotes, are both archaebacteria and eubacteria.

Complete answer:
There are all kinds of bacteria available on this planet. Some are dangerous to humans and some are also incredibly beneficial. Scientifically, the types of bacteria are based on the existence of their cell walls and forms. On the basis of genetic makeup, few are even classified. There are two forms available that belong to the same family of prokaryotes, depending on their genetic make-up. The Archaea is one and the Eubacteria is the other.
Archaea are single-celled and simple microorganisms that, under severe conditions, survive and thrive. They are commonly present in areas such as deep water beds, salt brine, and volcanic eruption sites as well. They belong to the kingdom of Monera and are prokaryotes. As extremophiles, archaea are often frequently referred to.

Eubacteria are a type of bacteria that, under normal conditions, are single-celled and complex microorganisms capable of surviving and thriving. About everywhere on earth, they are contained, such as soil, water, living and non-living creatures. Eubacteria also belong to the kingdom of Monera and they are prokaryotes as well. Eubacteria are often simply defined as bacteria. The nucleus and certain membrane organelles are not found in eubacteria. As such, in the cytoplasm, both processes exist.

The Archaea reproduction process is conducted on an asexual basis. Through budding or fragmentation or also by the binary fission mechanism, the asexual reproduction procedure is carried out. To date, there are three Archaea subtypes known. They are Halophiles, Thermophiles, and Methanogens. Archaea, therefore, are non-pathogens.

Note: For waste water disposal, methanogens are commonly used as they transform carbon dioxide and bacterial waste into methane. In the human world, thermophiles and halophiles have their applications as well.