Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

A kingdom common to unicellular plants and animal is
(a) Monera
(b) Protista
(c) Fungi
(d) Plantae

Last updated date: 14th Jun 2024
Total views: 402k
Views today: 7.02k
402k+ views
Hint: Chrysophytes, dinoflagellates, euglenoids, slime moulds and protozoans form a kingdom common to unicellular plants and animals. They are eukaryotic organisms. Sometimes, their movement is followed by flagella or cilia. The study of this group is called protistology.

Complete step by step answer:
A protist is any eukaryotic organism that is not an animal, plant, or fungus (that is, an organism whose cells contain a cell nucleus). Protistology is called the study of protists.
Protists are eukaryotic and can be single-cell or multi-cell. They sexually or asexually reproduce. The organism is known as plasmodium (that causes malaria), amoeba, and euglena are important examples of protists.
The Protozoans include two main classes of protists whose cells are identical to animal cells because they do not have cell walls and plant- like cells that have cell walls and are identical to algae.
Both animals and plants are pathogens of some protists. Example: In humans, Plasmodium falciparum causes malaria.
So, the correct answer is, ‘Protista’.

Additional information:
- They have cellular respiration mitochondria and others have chloroplasts for photosynthesis.
- Cellular respiration is primarily an aerobic process, but strictly facultative anaerobes are some animals living in the mud under ponds, or in animal digestive tracts.
- They may be both heterotrophic or autotrophic nutrition.
- Reproduction: some animals have diverse life cycles with many organisms involved. E.g: Plasmodium.
- They can replicate by mitosis and others are capable of sexual reproduction by meiosis.

Note: Centered on simple distinctive attributes, the five- kingdom system is the most common way of grouping living things. In 1969, Robert H. Whittaker created the five- kingdom scheme and it was based on the work of previous biologists such as Carolus Linnaeus. Animalia, Plantae, Fungi, Protista, and Monera are the five main kingdoms.