Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres

A deep cleft divides the cerebrum longitudinally into two halves termed as
A. Corpus callosum
B. Cerebral hemispheres
C. Median fissure
D. Cerebral cortex

Last updated date: 29th Feb 2024
Total views: 341.1k
Views today: 4.41k
IVSAT 2024
341.1k+ views
Hint: The human brain is divided into three main regions. They are the forebrain, midbrain, and hindbrain. The cerebrum is the portion that belongs to the forebrain region and is associated with memory and also the interpretation of sensory inputs.

Complete Answer:
A deep cleft known as the longitudinal fissure longitudinale divides the cerebrum. The two halves are known as Cerebral hemispheres. These two hemispheres have the outer layer made of grey matter, the part is known as the cerebral cortex. These parts coordinate the functions.
seo images

                            Figure: The right and left hemispheres of the human brain
Considering the other given options:
A.Corpus callosum is a bundle of nerves that are found beneath the cerebral cortex. It connects the two brain hemispheres. This portion facilitates communication between the two hemispheres. Thus it is not the right option.
C. Median fissure is a fold that is composed of the pia mater. This extends throughout the length of the medulla oblongata. Thus it is not the right option.
D. Cerebral cortex is also known as the cerebral mantle. It is the outermost layer of the human brain. It is made up of neurons. It is composed of grey matter. Thus it is not the right option.

Hence from the above-given options, the most appropriate answer is B. A deep cleft divides the cerebrum longitudinally into two halves termed as the Cerebral Hemispheres.

There are several lobes present in the human brain. They are frontal, parietal, temporal, and occipital lobes. Each lobe has its own specific functions.