Number of teeth which are monophyodont in man are
a. 4
b. 22
c. 32
d. 12

Answer Verified Verified
Hint: Based on how many times the teeth are replaced by other teeth, usually they are classified as monophyodont, diphyodont, and polyphyodont. In humans and in the majority of the mammals the teeth are diphyodont.

Complete answer:
- In mammals, especially in humans, two types of teeth are produced.
- The teeth produced the first time are said to be the milk teeth or deciduous teeth or primary teeth
- The types of teeth seen in the primary teeth are Incisors, canines, and molars.
- In each jaw 10 teeth are present, so both on the upper and lower jaw, a total of 20 teeth are present
- The dental formula for the primary teeth in humans are 2102\2102, which means that in each quadrant, incisors (I) are 2 in number, canines (c ) one in number, and molars are two in number
- In primary teeth premolars and secondary molars are absent.
- Once these primary teeth are shredded, secondary teeth develop which forms incisors, canines, premolars, and molars.
- Total permanent teeth in humans are 32.
- The dental formula for permanent teeth in humans is 2123\2123.
- So both in the primary and secondary dentition of the humans, incisors, canines and primary molars are replaced.
- But premolars and wisdom teeth are absent in the primary dentition and produce only during permanent dentition, it means they produce only one time in a lifetime and they come under Monophyodont.
- Premolars in each quadrant, which are 2 in number which means total 8 premolars.
- One wisdom tooth in each quadrant, means a total 4 teeth.
- Whereas 8 premolars and 4 wisdom teeth, total 12 teeth.

Note: Human teeth are also classified based on the shape, if the all types of the teeth are in the general form then it is said to be homodont, if the teeth are differentiate into many shapes then it is said to be heterodont, Human teeth are heterodont in nature.